Unraveling the Enigma: Finding the Missing Piece in My Dream Job

Space Kitty
2 min readNov 6, 2023

--

I won’t conceal my joy, the moment I received that internship offer from the company I’d always dreamed of working for, I was on cloud nine.

Fast forward through a grueling internship, and my perspective took a surprising twist. I found myself hoping I wouldn’t be offered a full-time position, fearing that I’d be overwhelmed once I joined as a permanent employee.

But then, an unexpected twist. The company turned out to be a hidden gem, offering a compensation package that was simply irresistible. When the full-time offer finally landed in my inbox, I rocketed into a euphoric state of accomplishment. I mean, I had given it my all, working seven days a week for two grueling months during the internship.

However, as time passed, that nagging fear persisted in the back of my mind, pushing me to apply to other companies relentlessly. I had tied my self-worth to my compensation, and I refused to settle for anything less. A year went by, and I finally arrived at my full-time start date. Surprisingly, within a week, my anxieties dissolved into thin air. My new team was different, but in a good way, and I began to feel a sense of fulfillment that brought happiness for several months.

My contentment was primarily derived from my job achievements. Yet, in the backdrop of a turbulent job market during this recession period, my happy hours were fleeting, and I was transferred to a different team.

Today, I stand at a crossroads, reflecting on the reasons for my happiness. Why have I consistently associated it with my job? Is there nothing more to me than my career? I woke up at 6 a.m. this morning and allowed myself to shed a few tears, ultimately accepting that my job isn’t the sole source of happiness. It’s everything beyond my career that truly matters — how I utilize my earnings, the quality of my life, spending time with my loved ones, and investing in myself. It’s about finding my genuine passion and being grateful every day for the privilege of being alive, with the time, resources, and ability to pursue so much more.

--

--

Space Kitty

I know a bit about tech, anime and procrastination. :)