Blog Post #7

Sarah Peddicord
2 min readOct 21, 2019

--

Sarah Peddicord

Blog Post #7 — Anthony Bourdain

Anthony Bourdain

Learning more about Anthony Bourdain fascinated me. His love for culinary, people, traveling the world, and meeting new people, most often put him in dangerous situations, most of which people didn’t know about, but often what he would spend his time writing about. Anthony Bourdain lived a beautiful life looking at it from the outside in. However, what most people didn’t know was his loneliness and dark side he had. I asked Anna if he had ever written or spoken about these dark times he had faced, in the cities where war and hatred were most common, if that was something that affected him so much he was willing to take his own life. Anna connected Anthony’s life perfectly. She talked about his early life, early career, and merged into his more significant moments in life, like his television show that brought him much fame.

He wrote books that told stories that he had experienced while on his culinary journey and writing journey. Most of which give you chills. I think what fascinated me most with Anthony Bourdain from this presentation was the beauty that was in his life, but also the polar opposite of the deep dark and scary moments that had also overcome him so much. I wish we heard more about those. I think that was a big part of his life. Most of which we would see him traveling the world eating amazing foods, but I think it’s interesting to look at what people don’t want to hear. The presentation was set up great for the viewer to see a preview of his show, and the span of his life over many years. I have never watched the show in full, but now I want to go back and see more of his life and his attitude towards what he loved.

--

--