Google | What is I/O?

Google chose an interesting name for its annual developers conference.

Marcus Spencer
2 min readApr 16, 2023
Credit | Google

The name "I/O" stands for input and output. At first, I was confused by this name, but after looking it up on Wikipedia, I realized that it is a simple and straightforward acronym. The name also reflects Google’s playful and creative approach to naming its products.

Google I/O is an annual developer conference held by Google to showcase its latest software and hardware advancements. The conference is attended by thousands of developers from around the world, who learn about new features and tools that they can use to build better apps and websites.

Google I/O is also a major event for the tech media. Journalists and bloggers from all over the world attend the conference to interview Google executives and get their hands on the latest products. This gives the public a first look at what's coming from Google, and helps to generate excitement for new products and services.

In addition to Google I/O, other major tech conferences include Microsoft Ignite, Microsoft 365, and Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC). WWDC is where Apple typically announces new iPhones and other products. Now that E3 is no longer in existence, video game companies have been holding their own individual conferences. This is a common trend in the tech industry, and it is likely to continue in the future. If you are interested in tech, then it is a good idea to follow these conferences.

Let’s go over a list of products that have been featured in previous I/O events:

  • Android (2008)
  • Chrome (2009)
  • Google TV (2010)
  • ChromeOS (2011)
  • Nexus 7 (2012)
  • Hangouts (2013)
  • Google Fit (2014)
  • Android Marshmello (2015)
  • Google Assistant (2016)
  • Google Lens (2017)
  • Android Pie (2018)
  • Pixel 3a and 3a XL (2019)
  • WearOS (2021)
  • Android 13 (2022)

Google I/O 2023 will be held on May 10, 2023, and will be livestreamed online for everyone to watch. The in-person audience is pre-selected, and attendees must be either very important or very knowledgeable about technology in order to be invited.

I will be covering Google I/O 2023 from home, and I will be writing an article on what people can expect to see in May. I will be providing updates on the latest announcements and news from the conference, as well as my own analysis and insights. I hope you will join me for the coverage!

--

--

Marcus Spencer

I have experience writing in-depth reviews of tech products, with a focus on market trends and analysis.