Sarah Pfohman
2 min readOct 14, 2021
Family ride on the boat to Ellis Island
Boat ride to Ellis Island, NYC

Once upon a time I studied English and History at the University of Portland. My original hopes were to become an editor. The 2008 financial crisis along with the consolidation and dissolution of many publishing outlets had other plans… so instead I turned to work in healthcare administration. Once again technology got the better of me and my job was outsourced along with the addition of process automation through technology.

Even though my employer at the time gave our department ample notification along with numerous resources for finding new work, nothing really prepares you for losing your job. I decided if I didn’t want that to continue happening to me and my career, I would have to be part of the change, rather than the side effect.

At first, I was afraid the leap from healthcare to software engineer would be too far. Instead, I completed an associate degree in Cybersecurity and Networking. That program is where I got my first taste in coding. I took a few Java classes along with a Python class, and I was hooked. I knew if that was what I really wanted to do I would need more than a few classes, so I enrolled with Flatiron School’s Software Engineering Bootcamp. The programs addition of the “flex” option, which allows you to take the course remotely at a pace of your choosing has been great for me, allowing me to still be there for my kids and learn at a more flexible schedule.

Kids at Shenandoah National Park

In school I realized the best way to learn about something is one; to immerse yourself, and two; try to explain what you are learning to someone else. With these blog posts I hope by explaining for others, I will learn more myself.

Sarah Pfohman

Software engineer, student, and true crime enthusiast. Check out my portfolio here: https://spfohman.github.io/