Living as an ambivert person

Carlos Reyes
4 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

I myself consider as an ambivert person. Sometimes I really like hanging out and talking to everybody. But also, feel like I don’t have any social energy and should be home instead. But, how has this affect me?

Okay so first, what does ambivert mean?

An ambivert is someone who exhibits qualities of both introversion and extroversion. Unlike introverts, who predominantly prefer solitude, and extroverts, who thrive on social interaction, ambiverts navigate a middle path. They can enjoy socializing and being in the spotlight, yet they also cherish their alone time and need moments of quiet to recharge. This flexibility allows ambiverts to adapt their behavior based on the situation and their energy levels.

How does it feel?

Photo by Will Paterson on Unsplash

For me, It’s sometimes great, but sometimes sad. It all depends on the moment and the people I’m surrounded by. When I’m at work, eating with my teammates at first it feels good. I do a bit of talking and listening, but after a while, I start to feel disconnected. My teammates continue to talk, and there comes a point where i don't know what they’re talking about. And all i want is to be alone or sit in a quieter place.

When I start to feel disconnect, it feels weird. It’s not like I hate the moment, or i hate my partners; I just begin to think a lot. Instead of talking with them, I prefer having conversations with myself in my mind.

And that’s what I do: I think what I’m doing, what Iwill do later, and the work I’m doing. This continues until we finish eating. Sometimes it feels awkward because we’re all sitting (5–7 people), everyone talking, and I’m just sitting there, thinking.

And the good part?

Photo by Chandan Chaurasia on Unsplash

Not everything is bad; being like this also feels good. Because I still have that extrovert feeling, sometimes I like going for a walk at my favorite park, just me and my music. There, I can feel relaxed, calm, and at peace, walking and watching trees. Nobody is talking to me — just my songs. But if I get bored of walking on my own, I can always go and ask some people if I can play volleyball with them. I’ts usually easy for me to approach someone and ask them something, for example if I can join them in their game. They usually say yes so, It’s pretty easy.

And that has It’s benefits. I get to know more people, laugh a lot with them, and after playing, maybe go for some dessert.

Should you be more social?

Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Maybe I should be a bit more social. I think that’d be great, because there’s just one life, meeting people and laugh with them It’s awesome, and if that makes you happy, then do it.

Don’t be afraid of things like:

  • “What will they think if I get closer to them”
  • “What if they say no”
  • “Do I look good like this”
  • “Will they accept me?”

Believe me, nobody cares about all that. People are just enjoying the moment. Trying to have a good moment, forget about bad things, meet new friends, that’s all. If you go with some group of people doing something and ask them if you can join, it’s almost 100% sure that they will tell you It’s okay, why wouldn’t the accept someone else into their group?

Photo by Anja Bauermann on Unsplash

Just enjoy the moment. Enjoy the food, the people you’re surrounded by, the weather, the plants, the trees, the birds, the sounds, and the music. Try to enjoy and laugh about everything as much as you can. We’re here on earth to have a good time and meet people. There are going to be a lot of problems and bad things, but also good ones, so, always enjoy everything^^.

--

--

Carlos Reyes

I'm a young software developer from Mexico with a passion for technology and writing about life ^^.