Colour Wheel: Exercise 1b 1.1

Marc A Spowart
2 min readNov 1, 2018

--

Our world is surrounded by design in numerous forms. From the pavements we walk down, the architecture that surrounds us or the everyday items we carry in our bags — everything is designed.

The first task I was assigned was to collect images that displayed examples of design that then blended to create a seamless colour wheel. We were to photograph the images ourselves and not use any stock ones found online.

My initial reaction to this brief was confusion; just because I knew that there were several examples I could think of already. But, as I later discovered, some colours had fewer examples than I’d hoped.

I noticed that BLUE was one of the easiest colours to find examples of. This got me questioning why one colour would be easier to find than the other; obviously there is more designs with one colour than another, but then why is one colour so popular to use in design?

A close second was YELLOW which I think is due to it’s radiant appearance and common use in design involving signs of danger and warning.

This is the first draft of my colour wheel and it is evident that there are certain colours that I need to photograph more of, such as red and purple. My next steps in this exercise will be to scope out more specific colours when I photograph as opposed to being more carefree in snapping anything I come across.

TO BE CONTINUED

--

--

Marc A Spowart

Interior & Spatial Design student @ Edinburgh Napier University.