CS 373 Fall 2023: Saransh Raina

Saransh Raina
2 min readAug 27, 2023

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Prosper, Texas which is a medium sized town in North Texas.

What high school did you attend?

I attended Prosper High School

What was your favorite extracurricular activity in high school?

My favorite extracurricular activity was probably UIL Mathematics as I meet a lot of other people who shared my love for math

Why did you come to UT?

I came to UT because I felt like it was a great school in the same state I already live in with a very strong Computer Science program.

Why are you majoring in CS?

I chose CS because I enjoy coding and building things that people can use in their lives.

Why are you in this class?

I chose this class because it seems like a great example of what the real world is like.

What are your expectations of this class?

I expect to learn about different concepts in the Software Engineering field and about Python which is a new language for me.

How much do you know about Javascript/Python/SQL/Web programming?

I have some experience in Javascript and Web Programming but none in Python and SQL and hope to learn more about these concepts.

How did you like the first lectures?

I enjoyed the first lectures, especially the one about Docker as it seems to be a very useful tool for collaborating on complex projects.

How did you feel about the cold calling?

The cold calling system seems like a great way to reinforcing learning and motivate people to pay more attention in class.

What do you think about specifications grading?

I like the specifications grading and the way that it offers some leeway in each category.

What made you happy this week?

Getting to meet all my friend’s again after the break made be happy this week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is LeetCode as I feel it is a great way to relearn algorithms that may come in hand when writing code, such as the upcoming Collatz project.

--

--