Facebook “Security”

Sam Ralston
2 min readApr 20, 2018

You would think that such a large company and website such as Facebook would be safe right? I mean most of us use it every day to share photos, stories, memes and of course private messages through the use of Facebook messenger. It’s all really convenient and easy, everything can be done though Facebook. So how do you really now that what you are sharing or even talking about in private with a friend or family member is actually private? How do you know that your details are not being compromised?

Zukerberg has admitted that “as many as 87 million users have had their data improperly used.” This data was used in the election for Trump campaign in order to gather information to sway voters. However, Zukerberg also stated that there are 13,000 people working on the security of the platform alone with plans to hire a further 7,000 by the end of the year. Although this seems like a large amount to tackle the issue, is it enough to cope?

It always feels scary that when I may search a particular product or place on my computer I will start seeing ads come up on my Facebook app. Even though I did not search it on my phone and Facebook was not even open on my computer. This is the future for marketing and even more so a security risk as it seems as though Facebook can see everything we search.

Recently Zukerberg was questioned over 10 hours over the course of 2 days before two different congressional committees. This was mainly aimed at the issue of privacy. How was it protecting the privacy and what was it doing differently after failing to protect the personal data of millions of people.

I’d like you to ask yourself, are you confident that your information on Facebook is protected?

--

--