Interview with BadVR Senior Engineer, Brian Wong

Suzanne Borders
8 min readJun 24, 2019

--

At BadVR, we spend most of our days behind computer screens, designing and creating new ways to make an impact on the future of data. But, behind each computer screen, behind each innovation, behind the VR headset, is a team of incredibly passionate humans who show up to make a massive impact on the industry each day.

We wanted to share with you the stories of the interesting people who have built BadVR to what it is today, and there’s no better place to start than with our Senior Engineer, Brian Wong.

Hi Brian!

What’s your current position at BadVR? Can you give me a brief overview of the work you do?

Brian: My current position at BadVR is Senior Engineer. I collaborated with BadVR for the AT&T Magic Leap Hackathon in November 2018 and officially started in this role in January 2019. I spend the majority of my time working on our core Virtual and Augmented Reality software. I particularly enjoy working on novel interactions with our data environments, futuristic XR user interfaces and working on challenging functionalities. In addition, I often work on our custom hardware projects, which includes designing millimeter-precision CAD models, 3D Printing and designing microchip configurations. Integrating hardware and software into a seamless experience is one of my favorite aspects of the job.

What would you say motivates you to do what you do each day?

Brian: I think it is a very exciting time to be in the immersive technology space. The field is so young and reminiscent of the pre-internet boom in the late 90s. I often draw a parallel of the current state of VR/AR to the “Wild West”. The idea that not many standardizations have been established yet and the possibility that my work may contribute to future generations is a huge motivating factor for me. I often seek projects that attempt to solve fundamental problems, which is why data visualization using immersive technology is so compelling to me. I’ve become very passionate about discovering innovative ways of representing data and finding optimized methods of absorbing, retaining and consolidating it. I would like to believe my neuroscience background gives me a unique perspective on how to approach these problems. My overarching goal is to help BadVR establish itself as the new standard for data visualization and make “big data” more accessible and intuitive to our users.

I want to understand how and why you ended up working as Senior Engineer at BadVR. What led you to this job? What attracted you to work for BadVR?

Brian: In 2016, I developed a neurotherapy system that integrated real-time brain measurements, high-quality virtual reality, and machine learning. In 2018, I used what I learned from VR development to develop an affordable wireless brain-computer interface for Magic Leap. My work eventually got the attention of BadVR CEO, Suzanne Borders. In November of 2018, Suzanne invited me to the AT&T Magic Leap Hackathon where we developed the first version of SeeSignal. After the Hackathon, we were so proud of what we accomplished that we opened a discussion about continuing our collaboration to bring the app to market. I eventually got the opportunity to try BadVR’s core product and I absolutely fell in love with it. After a few brainstorming meetings about SeeSignal, I was eventually offered to join BadVR as their full-time Senior Engineer. The synergy between the multidisciplinary team members and innovative approaches made the decision an obvious choice.

I love hearing peoples backstories about how their life in the past has shaped them to be perfectly where they are today. So, if we can, I’d like to go way back in time for a little while. Tell me a little about life growing up, and how that lead you to where you are today.

Brian: I lived in Sacramento for the first 10 years of my life in a humble neighborhood in the suburbs. My father spent a lot of time in Silicon Valley during this time, so I naturally gained an interest in engineering and technology. During my teenage years, I developed an interest in the medical field and scientific research. Specifically, I was interested in how I could help others suffering from mental health and brain-related disorders through scientific research and applied neuroscience. My passion led me to attended college at UC San Diego where I double majored in Biochemistry and Neuroscience. During this time, I got the opportunity to work with world-class scientists from all around the world. My research involved developing biosensors for neural engineering and studying the cellular and molecular basis of Schizophrenia.

Did you have any key mentors growing up or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in, and what you’re committed to in your work and life?

Brian: There have been two mentors that have positively changed the course of my life and career.

The first was Dr. David Bookin, my Organic Chemistry professor in college. His course was the first major challenge of my college career. He was strict, unforgiving, but incredibly supportive. This was exactly what I needed at the time. After his course, I became his Teaching Assistant where I got to practice public speaking multiple times a week. This experience eventually gave me the confidence to pursue scientific research, a dual major, volunteer work and upper division Teaching Assistant positions.

My second mentor is Dr. Ann Lowe, a Neurofeedback Clinician that took me under her wing and gave the opportunity to apply my neuroscience knowledge to help others. I met Dr. Lowe while working at a local hospital where I expressed my interest to help patients suffering from mental health and brain-related disorders. We immediately hit it off and it didn’t take long before she invited me to work with her at her clinic. She gradually taught me everything that she knew about applied clinical neuroscience and supplied everything that I needed to be a successful practitioner. She continues to be my biggest advocate and supporter. I eventually took this knowledge to develop my immersive neurofeedback system, which led me down my current path.

Let’s keep things interesting… did you have any life-changing experiences along the way that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today?

Brian: My path to becoming an XR developer started with a joke that eventually became a reality. VR wasn’t on my radar until 2016 when I stumbled upon YouTube videos showing people’s reactions to VR and their emotional response. At the time, my full-time day job was a Neurofeedback practitioner, which involved measuring brain activity of clients and helping them make shifts towards more beneficial brain states. I immediately noticed the synergy that VR and Neurofeedback could have, but at the time, I had no clue how to even get started with coding. For several months, I joked with friends and family that I was going to learn how to code and develop a brain-computer interface for VR. It wasn’t until I shared the idea with a close friend and he immediately asked to invest without hesitation that I started to take the idea more seriously. After this, I dedicated myself to learning everything I could to achieve my vision. After 2 months, I had a functional version that I gradually optimized until the end of 2016.

So let's tie that all back to where you are now with BadVR since you bring an interesting history to the company. What do you think the team has learned from you since joining the team? What have you learned from them?

Brian: What I hope the team has learned from me is unique and innovative methods of interfacing with XR experiences. User interface and interactions are the most interesting aspect of software for me. I’m continually gaining inspiration for new and exciting ways of interfacing with technology. I bring the same enthusiasm through my contributions to BadVR and I’m confident it is reflected in our latest products.

Learning how to code is an ongoing journey. First comes fundamentals, then functionality, then optimization. Working with the BadVR team, I have learned optimizations I hadn’t even considered an invaluable method of creating robust code that is reusable. My understanding of creating a high-quality product that is ready for deployment has significantly improved since I started collaborating with the team.

We all know that sometimes it’s quite hard not to think about work, especially when you’re in a space that’s new and exciting like data visualization. But what are you doing outside of work, just for fun?

Brian: I absolutely love gardening and building things with my hands. Being immersed in technology on a daily basis, I find that gardening has been a healthy contrast. Spending time with my hands in the soil and continuously improving my garden is incredibly therapeutic for me.

I have completed many projects on my property including a greenhouse, bridges, 3 tier garden system, a shed and solar power system. Some of my mindset from coding does translate over though. I’m always looking for optimization and automation, so my list of projects never ends, and I hope it never does. It’s wonderful!

In general, inside or outside of work, what energizes you and brings you excitement?

Brian: Getting the next generation excited and optimistic about the future! I often participate in community outreach opportunities where I can introduce others to immersive technology. Being in this space, it is easy to forget that most people haven’t tried VR or AR before. Being the first to demonstrate this technology to someone is a very special moment for me. In addition, getting others excited about pushing the limits of human knowledge and technology brings me immense joy. In particular, progress in brain-computer interfacing, artificial intelligence, sustainable energy and space exploration is incredibly exciting to me.

Let’s finish things out with a daydream about the future. What are you most looking forward to in the next year?

Brian: I am really looking forward to LEAPCon this year. Last year was such a surreal experience to meet all the talented creators I had been interacting with on social media. I formed so many incredible relationships from the event and I am excited to see what this year has in store.

Want to keep up with Brian and see what he’s doing in the data visualization space? Click the links below to stay updated!

Twitter

LinkedIn

Medium

Reach out and schedule a demo of BadVR today!

--

--

Suzanne Borders

CEO and Co-Founder at BadVR. Passionate about finding meaning in data and building my own Holodeck. Inspiration: philosophy, poetry, and travel.