The Growth Project

Steph Rempe
4 min readJul 3, 2020

I believe that the greatest innovation occurs at the intersection of two fields. Take Neri Oxman as an example. Head of the MIT media lab with degrees in both Biology and Architecture, she is pioneering the field of Material Ecology by creating revolutionary designs that are engineered by, with and for, Nature.

Oxman’s Aguahoja is an exploration of nature’s design space. The material is digitally designed and robotically fabricated from the molecular components found in tree branches, insect exoskeletons, and our own bones.

I love to learn. I have so many passions and interests that I want to explore. I propose The Growth Project, a year long experiment to develop myself in 10 different areas to the fullest potential.

What am I doing?

The goal of my project is to improve myself in ten different areas which include:

1. Mindfulness

Mindfulness practices improve the ability to regulate emotions, decrease stress, and lower anxiety. It can also help to focus our attention, and to observe our thoughts and feelings without judgment. I am going to be adding 10 minutes of meditation into my everyday routine, and completing a yoga class at least twice a week.

2. Health and Fitness

As a dual sport athlete at Brown University (Varsity women’s ice hockey, and varsity women’s crew), Health and Fitness is an essential part of my daily routine. I will be dedicating at least one hour a day to this topic, and setting monthly fitness goals. By the end of…

--

--