An Indian Perspective: Only Proven 5 Ways to Save Money in NYC as an International Student.

Sri Hari Chellu
3 min readJun 8, 2023

--

After a grueling finals week, I was relieved to find myself on the sandy shores of Puerto Rico. I had finally escaped the bitter cold of New York and arrived in what looked to be paradise 🏖 I spent a full 10 days surfing, eating, and snorkeling with my friends — life was good.

As a college student, I initially thought I couldn’t afford it. Rent in New York is prohibitively expensive, the price of food is triple the amount I would have paid back home, and my NYU tuition bill put a nice $50,000 dent in my wallet each year. However, I was meticulous with my saving, and as a graduating senior, I have a few tips to share about saving money as a student in New York.

Look for affordable housing

Living in Manhattan or downtown Brooklyn may seem glamorous, but it can burn a hole in your pocket. If your college is in Manhattan, consider living in Queens, Brooklyn, or Jersey City to save money. If you’re attending a college in Brooklyn, look for places like Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, or Coney Island. Sure, you’ll have to travel an extra 30 minutes every day, but it’s worth it. And try to find apartments without broker fees. It can save you almost $500–$1000. And also, use StreetEasy.

Another tip is to look for sublets, or hunt for people looking for roommates in Facebook and WhatsApp groups. This way, you can talk to the people you’ll be living with and save on guarantor fees. Guarantor companies charge around 1 month’s rent in order to insure you.

Cook at home

NYC is notorious for its expensive food prices. I mean, who wants to pay $20 for a sandwich? The best way to save money on food every dayis to cook at home. I know it’s tough as a student, but you can take turns cooking with your roommates or preparing food in advance for a couple of days. You can also make instant lunch, like a chicken salad. And say no to Uber Eats. Trust me, your wallet will thank you.

Take advantage of discounted Metro cards and Museum visits

https://www.nyc.gov/site/fairfares/index.page

Saving money in NYC can feel like a never-ending battle. But don’t worry, there are ways to make it easier. One of them is using Fair Fares NYC, a program that offers discounted metro cards to eligible New Yorkers. Thanks to my friend Sai, who introduced us to this program, my roommates and I save upwards of $60 per month. It may not be as much as health insurance savings, but it’s a consistent saving. And the best part? Immigration status is not affected. I did my research and spoke to an immigration lawyer, and it’s clearly mentioned on the NY state gov website that these details will not be shared with federal immigration authorities at any point in time.

Note: This applies to Health Insurance saving too(Tip 1).

Not a money-saving tip, but a money-earning tip

Saving money is important, but so is earning it. Try to find on-campus employment as soon as you get admission. Each university has different ways of finding employment opportunities, so start by emailing someone and I’m sure they’ll help you find the right person. At the end of the day, it’s not just about saving more money, but also earning it.

With these five proven ways to save money as an international student in NYC, you can focus on your studies and experiences instead of worrying about your finances. Or, with the money saved, you can take a nice tropical vacation after your finals.

--

--