Sruti Soumya Nanda
2 min readApr 18, 2024

D.E. Shaw Interview Experience: Associate - Global Recruitment Operations

Hi future applicants!

Today, I'm sharing my experience interviewing for the Associate - Global Recruitment Operations (Talent Acquisition) role at D.E. Shaw through their off-campus recruitment process.

In August 2023, I came across a job posting on LinkedIn and applied due to my background in business administration with a specialization in human resources.

A month later, in around September 26th, I received an email to schedule a meeting. After some back-and-forth due to busy schedules, the meeting was set for the second week of October.

To my surprise, the meeting wasn't an interview but an informational session with a team lead. They warmly welcomed me, explained the role and its responsibilities in detail, and answered any questions I had. They also informed me about an upcoming online assessment.

The Associate - Global Recruitment Operations (Talent Acquisition) role focuses on recruitment in India with a strong operational bent (think building a career in recruitment operations, not a typical HR generalist or recruiter profile).

Responsibilities include:
- Troubleshooting application issues
- Managing applicant databases
- Shortlisting candidates

The team handles around 30-35 recruitment processes. Newcomers start by learning 2-3 processes, which can be repetitive initially but are crucial for understanding the role.

The next day, I received an email about the online assessment, which needed to be completed within 24 hours. The assessment was divided into two parts: a 45-minute multiple-choice question (MCQ) section as a qualifying round, followed by a 9-minute asynchronous video interview if you passed the MCQ. Interestingly, the MCQ wasn't a generic aptitude test but one specifically designed to assess skills relevant to the role.

After passing the assessment, I was invited for the final interview via email, which took place in late October and lasted about 30 minutes. It was with a senior member of the team I would potentially join. We discussed my academic background, interests, and past experiences to see if I was a good fit for the role. They also provided further insights into the day-to-day responsibilities.

Unfortunately, I wasn't selected for the position, receiving an email within a half week of the interview.

Despite the outcome, I had a positive experience overall. The interview process was seamless, communication was clear throughout, and the company culture seemed positive. While I wasn't selected this time, I'd love to work with D.E. Shaw someday.

I hope this experience helps educate and familiarize anyone applying for similar roles at D.E. Shaw!

Sruti Soumya Nanda

A management student diving into the real world. Sharing interview experiences!