How I failed with a writing schedule!

And why it doesn’t hurt anymore

Stefan Schulte Strathaus
2 min readMay 18, 2023
“a man writing on a computer looking confused, digital art” — DALL·E 2

Over the last months, I tried several ideas to develop a writing schedule.

I was driven by the idea of producing many articles every month and increasing the income from it.

All attempts failed! I did produce, but as much as I thought I could do.

Once I accepted that I had failed again, I reviewed why the latest and greatest approach didn’t work.

It is always easy to blame the tools. So I looked at the tools, then the process, and fine-tuned both.

Just to fail again.

Eventually, I threw away the entire idea of writing on a schedule.

I started to collect ideas and thoughts but not putting them into any planning, drafting, etc.

Then I wait until something triggers me to look at the ideas, and if I feel the time is right, I start writing.

Like right now. I just found myself in a situation where I wanted to share some thoughts on the reMarkable2 Type Folio keyboard.

So I wrote the piece, did some editing, and published it.

Then the thought popped up: This ad hoc writing is how I want to move on. And that I wanted to share it.

Done!

🙏🏽 Thank you for reading! Life is rich!

--

--

Stefan Schulte Strathaus

Working in Tech for decades and loving productivity hacks. Passionate about helping others to strive and succeed. Snowboarding and Wing Chung to stay healthy.