How NOT to waste your summer

Shahlo
4 min readJun 25, 2018
by @priscilladupreez on Unsplash

Summer has started long time ago, but this won’t stop me from putting together some ideas on how to make my summer more productive. Now I won’t be sharing particular external links, but will give a general idea on how to formulate your hobbies, side-projects, etc.

I am a life-long learner. And so are you, I presume. You always look for interesting book titles, courses to take on your free time, new skills to learn. So basically, you are not afraid to leave your comfort-zone to discover the unknown. For some of us, summers tend to offer more free time. So here are some the new things you can get started on that you always wanted to dive into.

  1. Learn coding
    I am going to be subjective with this statement, because I started to learn coding a few months ago myself. This learning path has challenged me intellectually and brought me a lot of joy. For the first time, I dived into “science-y/techie” part of things in my life and was so happy to find something that I love. Don’t wait for a big internship/job offer, don’t wait for someone to contact you with a job offer. Make stuff! Build 30 websites in 30 days, learn a new programming language, create a simple app or a game. Get your hands dirty to gain more practice. Also, brainstorm on a side-project that will benefit your community. Or a family member. It doesn’t have to be on a big community level. For instance, I am…

--

--

Shahlo

I am a second-year graduate student majoring in Central Eurasian Studies at Indiana University (Bloomington). Learning to code on my own and inspiring others!