GSoC 2023 with OpenMRS | Coding Week 12

Shubham Sharma
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

The past three months have been a whirlwind of learning, coding, and collaboration as I embarked on a thrilling adventure through the Google Summer of Code (GSoC) program. With the coding period drawing to a close, I wrote this blog highlighting my last week progress and reflecting on my coding period.

A Week of Last-Minute Triumphs

The last week of the Google Summer of Code coding period was marked by a flurry of activity and excitement. It was a week of tying up loose ends, testing, and making those final enhancements that truly elevated the project. During this week, I focused on a couple of crucial tasks that would not only ensure the reliability of the codebase but also enhance its functionality.

One of the highlights of this final week was the addition of Unit tests for the DrugRepository and the ProgramRepository. Testing is a critical component of any software development process, as it ensures that the code functions as intended and that new changes do not inadvertently introduce bugs. By carefully writing unit tests, I was able to verify the correctness of these repositories, enhancing the overall stability of the Android SDK for OpenMRS.

Additionally, I migrated around 12 Java files to Kotlin. Kotlin, known for its concise syntax and enhanced safety features, has gained widespread popularity in the Android development community. By migrating certain components of the project to Kotlin, I aimed to modernize the codebase and make it more maintainable in the long run.

See all the Pull requests from last week here:

A Journey Filled with Learning and Growth

As I reflect on the entire Google Summer of Code experience, I am struck by how much I’ve learned and how far I’ve come. This journey has been so much more than just coding; it has been a pathway to personal and professional growth. Collaborating with mentors and fellow contributors from around the world, I’ve gained insights into best practices, coding standards, and effective communication within an open-source project.

The challenges I faced along the way, from conceptualizing solutions to debugging complex issues, have honed my problem-solving skills and deepened my understanding of software development. The feedback and guidance I received from the community were invaluable in shaping my approach and pushing me to excel.

Beyond GSoC: A Continuation of Commitment

Beyond GSoC, I am excited to continue contributing to the OpenMRS community, striving to improve the Android SDK and make a meaningful impact on healthcare technology.

Open source is more than just code; it’s about collaboration, innovation, and giving back to the community. My GSoC experience has reinforced my belief in the power of collective efforts and the positive change that can emerge from a diverse group of individuals working together toward a common goal.

Thanks to my mentor Rishabh Aggarwal. His humble nature and great knowledge always motivates me

--

--