Building Microservices with Python , Part I

Sergio Sola
7 min readMar 5, 2017

Currently I am working in my current job as a Software Engineer at HelloFresh on the DataWarehouse Team. I am working on data pipelines and building tools around our infrastructure, like Documentr.

By the way, we are hiring in those positions: Data Engineer and Backend Engineer.

But at the end, I am a Software Engineer interested in many different areas. This post it is going to be focus on Backend Development and how I am building microservices on a personal project I am working.

You can find all the code in this repo: https://github.com/ssola/python-flask-microservice

Purpose

Nowadays it is a common practice to work in smaller applications, sharing the responsibility among many different services. I believe it is critical to have some standard tools between the teams working solving those problems.

In my opinion a Microservices should have some basic features:

  • Easy to start coding your logic, stop worrying about tools/patterns.
  • Documentation, an essential feature to share how your service it is going to work. In this case, Swagger works pretty well.
  • Serializing your input/output in a way shared among all applications. You need to chose a technology like Avro/Protobuf. This is mandatory to be sure all services are sharing the same entities.
  • Events, probably your application it is going to generate…

--

--