The Sure Way to Stay Afloat During Writing Career Disasters

Anderson Laatsch
5 min readMar 8, 2018

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Abandoned novels. Book launch flops. Marketing plan failures. Negative reviews. Rejections.

The inevitable challenges of a writing career can feel like life-ending (or at least career-ending) disasters.

In the ups-and-downs of a creative career, the sure way to stay balanced and afloat above the churning waters of self-pity and defeat lies in one, simple internal mindset.

Remember your reason why.

Pffft, right! I just lost a few thousand in a marketing campaign for my last novel that completely flopped, and I still have to write the sequel which at this point no reader on earth seems to be interested in buying and I need to pay the bills and send my kids to college and you want me to sit here and contemplate my inner motivation for pursuing a creative career when I should have just gone into nursing like my parents wanted?

Deep breath.

Yes.

When a challenge arises, the ego perceives it as a disaster and will project all kinds of terrifying thoughts to convince us to jump ship and swim to safer waters.

Witness that fear. Know that the ego only wants to keep you safe.

But don’t let it influence your behavior.

Before you move forward to the next action, you must be sure the motivation is coming from the wisdom of your inner creative voice and not the fear of your limited ego. To do that, you must remain calm and look inward.

You must become clear again on the reasons why you write.

Why do you write? A simple question, but one that writers sometimes shove back into the shadows of our subconscious rather than contemplate.

Take a moment now. Bring that question into the light.

Are you serious? I need practical tips here for increasing my productivity to 10,000 words a day! I need to know how to gain hundreds of new email subscribers every month! I don’t have time to sit here thinking!

Deep breath.

This will only take a few moments.

Ask yourself to remember the reasons for which you are writing.

Allow yourself to be a specific as possible.

As honest as possible.

Are you writing to express your most important values? Do you want to gain the acceptance of your peers or family? Are you devoted to creating art?

Yeah, yeah all of those things... But here’s the deal. I need to make a living. I am a professional writer, and I need to make money. All that other stuff is fine, but when it comes down to it, I have to earn an income.

Deep breath.

A creative career is often volatile and unsteady, but remember that not one career path is a guaranteed straight-shot uphill road to the pinnacle of success.

Setbacks happen. And if recognition or fame or money are your true and only reasons for writing, then you will want to consider a more stable vocation.

It’s not wrong to seek fame or wealth.

It’s just that…if you want to become famous or rich, there are so many better ways to do so than becoming a writer.

And if those are your only reasons for writing, you’ll run out of motivation quickly.

OK, I get it. And of course I’m not writing to get rich quick. I love writing. I am devoted to the art of telling stories and communicating through words. But…why does it have to be so freaking hard sometimes?

Deep breath.

Writing is hard because it involves exposing the most vulnerable parts of ourselves — our ideas and our ambitions, our most secret beliefs and questions — sometimes disguised as the emotions and behaviors of fictional characters, but still ours.

Beneath our characters and scenes and plots and dialogue lies the clues of our deepest truths, lying there for any reader to discover.

So…one more question.

What is your truth?

What are you really writing about? If you dig deep into your reason for writing and don’t hit a core of truth, you might be in trouble.

You’ll find difficulty sustaining a writing career without the foundation of your truth.

What is behind your motivation to write?

Um…I don’t know…I’ve always loved to read and I’ve always been good at writing, and I love stories and I just want to write stories and entertain people. There’s no Great Truth there.

Actually, there is. To provide entertainment through stories is a fine reason for writing.

It also happens to be my reason.

Behind my writing is a lifetime love of stories and the urge to create cherished books that provide entertainment and comfort in the same way books have provided for me all my life. Iin times of sadness, boredom, fear, uncertainty, I have always turned to a book and always, always found an answer. I want to create those kinds of books for other readers.

When I experience disasters in my own writing career, I say or write my truth: I write books that provide comfort and inspiration to readers in the same way books have provided for me my whole life.

Is your truth founded in service? How do you give? How do you create value for others?

If your truth is founded in fear or lack (the false belief in the need for increasing amounts of money or recognition), you may never achieve the satisfaction or success you desire.

Once you are strong and sure in your truth, you’re ready to move forward to take your next action.

“I honor my truth by living my truth.”

These words will carry you through every perceived disaster in your writing career. Once you get to that truth and know it inherently, this simple statement will lead you to your next action.

When rejections hit, the launch flops, or the writing isn’t going well, take the time you need to remember your reasons why you write and to realign yourself with your truth.

Then take the next action in certainty, not fear. Write the next chapter. Brainstorm a new plot outline. Create a new marketing plan.

When you live by your truth, your outer world aligns to your positive inner condition, and your writing life begins to flow naturally toward success.

As long as you are clear in your reason for writing, steady in your truth, and continuing to take action in that truth, you are on the right path. You can get back to writing, knowing no challenge can ultimately defeat you.

Part of my truth as a writer is helping other writers. If you are you struggling to finish your novel, I want to help! Try my free course to Finish Your Novel in 8 Weeks.

--

--