End-to-end testing for fun and profit (and more space in cinemas) ✌🏼

It started out with a seat, how did it end up like this?

Stacy Goh
4 min readJun 16, 2019

--

Was playing around with Golden Village’s movie interface and was made aware of a loophole in the system.

What if you could have the whole cinema for yourself and only yourself to watch a movie (without actually burning a hole in your wallet and booking the whole cinema of course)?

How I like watching my movies

How it all started

It all started when I wanted to watch a movie in Golden Village Suntec. I went to book 2 seats (as shown below) at the digital kiosk but was unable to do so.

There was a warning which said “You cannot leave a single seat in between”. I’m sure most of you have encountered the warning as well.

I approached the counter staff in GV and was presented with a simple solution. He proceeded to ask for the movie name, timing, and seats we wanted. Then he selected the single…

--

--

Stacy Goh

Software Engineer at GDS, Govtech Singapore. I don't believe in deep down. I kinda think that all you are is just the things that you do.