Project 2

stalv006
4 min readOct 19, 2021

--

Digging in to learn how Illustrator, Procreate, and Rhino can be used in the digital fabrication process has been fun — it also takes a lot of time.

This weekend I took time to get out of the city, away from my computer, and sit next to a bonfire with a book. I didn’t read with a pencil, underline passages and wonder if it would be suitable for my research. No. I opened the cover and let it pull me deeper and deeper into a place beyond myself and worrying about wtf I’m doing with my life.

This afternoon we drove home. After the 4 hour drive we unpacked the car and I road my bike to school — I felt like a hot shower at the Rec Center. I washed off the dirt, and smell of smoke, combed my hair real good, then ate some pizza. Then finally! I sat down to conceptualize Project 2 — something made using the CNC router.

As a graduate student I’m required to come up with 5 designs/concepts, 2 more than undergrads. To be honest, it was hard for me to imagine coming up with 2 let alone five, but I pushed myself. Those last two miles of the run generated a whole spin-off of thoughts, ideas, and concepts that ran wild a completely new direction (not pictured).

Here they are. For the most part they are made with hardwood or plywood and acrylic. To fully realize these tables, I would have to collaborate with someone who works in glass. One day.

In the meantime, I’m happy about these ideas and even if they don’t see the light of day, I love the drawings.

  1. Salt Cellar

I’m still really into this idea (a previous concept for project 1) and would love to see an edition 20 of these realized. The base is thick wood. I think it could be nice in some hardwood like maple, something soft like poplar, or even plywood.

I like that this hand is a bit off kilter and not a common anatomy. The edge can be echted to add some textural depth. The top piece of acrylic slides off of the base while attached to a pivot point.

2. Giant Wall Light

Concept drawing for a 4-foot-wide wall light. This would be spectacular as a single pane of cut and etched glass; and that would require some serious consideration regarding hanging. But as a more affordable version this would be made with a plywood backing, neon led strip around the perimeter and a beautiful piece of acrylic on top.

3. Small Table

This table reminds me of something my French boyfriend in Brooklyn would have in his apartment. Definitely picking up some modernist vibes.

The top is acrylic, though again, this should really be made in glass. The base is a hardwood or plywood that has been cut in two pieces that intersect when put together.

Serious consideration must be made to how the two separate materials will stay securely together.

4. Hands Laid On Make a Man Go Crazy

These are giant lead blankets you can drape across your body for comfort. If you hang them it feels like someone is holding you against a wall. These would not be made using a laser cutter or cnc router, however, their storage case (not pictured) would be.

5. Velodrome

My 5th concept is a an orange velodrom. The velodrome would be carved into a 2-inch-thick piece of orange plastic melted down from construction bollards. A hand puppet would perform tricks with a green balloon in it.

--

--