Why I “wasted” one week of my life to set up another Solitaire website

Stan Bright
3 min readMar 7, 2016
www.SolitaireQueen.com

Long story short — I “wasted” it because I can and with the belief that it will be bringing in a considerable passive income in a year or two.

Why exactly Solitaire? Well, because it is here to stay. It is one of the few games that have been played since the 18th century, and it is still growing in popularity. You may not believe me, but that’s what numbers say. Moreover, I can bet my (yet) non-existing fortune, that “Patience” will still be played until people use desktop computers at work. Yes, that’s right — people at work. This very particular group makes up for more than 90% of all people playing solitaire online!

OK, many things are here to stay, but what is the potential? I would say, it is big enough. Only the sites that are found on the first page of Google, when searching for “solitaire”, sum up to around 18 million visits per month! Yes, this isn’t the next big thing, but I don’t expect it to be either. All I want is 1/10th of those users. And I firmly believe that this is achievable given that some of the most visited sites for playing Solitaire online use flash, have more than the reasonable amount of ads or just look terrible.

In the end, I expect that my Solitaire dedicated site will be making at least $100 a day in a year or two. Yes, I won’t be able to buy a house with that; however, it will be a considerable passive income that many people would love to have.

So, let me list a few reasons why SolitaireQueen will succeed. Firstly, it has a much better design, up to everybody I have advised with, than all other similar high-traffic sites. I am sure that 9 out of 10 people would choose SolitaireQueen over any of the rivals, should they know both of them. Secondly, it’s targeted at women. Don’t underestimate this. It is exactly women that play solitaire the most. If you don’t believe me, try checking the Alexa records of some of the Solitaire sites online. It is a fascinating fact that none of the rivals are taking this into consideration. Thirdly, I have some initial stats to validate my growth predictions and aspirations.

The growth is slow, but it seems to be stable. Moreover, what is important is that SolitaireQueen has a constant influx of traffic from the most popular site for playing 2048 online, 2048Game.com, and a steady increase in “returning visitors”. What this means is that I can realistically anticipate a stable growth over time, and all I have to do is make sure that the site stays up.

In the end, yes, maybe I have squandered some of my time, by not working on the next big thing or not charging $100/hour for Ruby on Rails consulting; however, I still believe it has been a great investment. Furthermore, people will continue playing solitaire online, and I will be happy that I’ve improved the experience of many of them.

Now, as you are reading this on Medium, the chances are that you are not the kind of person playing solitaire. Nonetheless, I will appreciate it, if you wish to help me in my endeavour and share SolitaireQueen with your mom or girlfriend :). Many thanks in advance!

--

--

Stan Bright

Software Engineer. Founder of LibHunt, SaaSHub & EarlyRisersHub. Ruby on Rails expert. Elixir enthusiast.