How I started building e-commerce brands

Top 10 Everything
4 min readMay 14, 2020

--

I’d love to start telling you how I’m making thousands of dollars dropshipping products from China but I’d prefer to start from how it all began when I knew nothing about dropshipping

I was scrolling through my instagram feed a few months back looking for an online hustle I could start when I saw a shopify sales screenshot

I knew people were making a lot of money online but I wasn’t sure how

So I decided to dig deeper and I found some YouTube gurus who were teaching people how to dropship products from China with facebook ads

For those who don’t know what dropshipping is — it is a business model where you position yourself as a middleman through an online store and sell products you’ve probably haven’t seen for huge profits

I was so intrigued to see 20 year olds making $10,000 a month doing this simple business

And from that moment I knew nothing was going to stop me from building my own online store

I did some light research and jumped into the Shopify platform a week later to build swimsuit store

I didn’t even do any product research because I had no idea what a product research was back then but swimsuits had to sell right? It was summer after all

It took me two weeks to complete the store and I launched my first facebook ad the next day

The gurus on YouTube had already said you just need to launch your ad and you’ll start getting sales

But It was a disaster!

I barely had link clicks talk-less of purchases

Looking back at the creative, ad copy and the store, there was no way I was going to be successful with dropshipping if I had continued like that

But my biggest asset was my mindset

I’ve always believed that as long someone else was doing it successfully, I will do it successfully too.

So I dusted my failure off my coat and started building my second store two days later

It was a health and fitness store and I completed it in less than 4 days

Faster yeah?

But something deep inside me still told me I was going to waste another ad budget on facebook ads

So I decided to submit the store for a review in a Shopify experts community

And I was right, I was heading towards another disaster

They sent me an audit and an expert to guide me

I’m forever grateful to that guy because he made me realize that running a successful e-commerce brand wasn’t as simple as the gurus on YouTube make it seem

I realized I was in a hurry to get rich overnight and needed to slow down to learn properly

So I started gathering resources all over again

I watched every single video on building branded stores on YouTube

Studied how the top e-commerce brands built their online stores

Reached out to the notable and trustworthy gurus for any advice I could get

Studied and understood their marketing strategies

I also want to appreciate Ads Alchemist on Twitter because he taught me a lot about facebook ads

3 months later I decided to build my new store

This time I had done a proper product research, knew what a branded store should look like and most importantly — I had a definite marketing strategy

I launched my ads and my new store did 7 sales at $89 per sale in the first week!

I made $2,300 in profit before selling the store on Flippa for $3,500 because I wasn’t feeling the niche

I built another one a week later following the same procedures and I had 5 sales at $50/sale on the first day!

That was when I knew I was unto something great, everything changed because I had taken my time to learn and implement

But unfortunately I had to pause the entire operation because the corona virus had just broken out in China and suppliers were closed

It’s 5 months later now and it’s time for project restart

I’ll be buying my products in bulk from China to a warehouse in the US where they’ll be re-branded and available for faster shipping

I plan on scaling this new store to the moon and the best part is that I’ll be documenting everything here!

So stay tuned if you’ve ever thought about building an e-commerce brand in the future

I’ll be showing you how I did my product research in my next post, you don’t want to miss it.

--

--

Top 10 Everything
0 Followers

Top 10 trending news from every industry.