How to use Angular CLI locally

Viacheslav Starikov
1 min readMay 12, 2018

--

“grayscale photo of person using MacBook” by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

Here I’m going to share with you an approach of how to use Angular CLI locally without having the global installation of it. I’ve been using this way of utilizing the CLI for some time and I really love it.

Step 1: Uninstall the global version of the CLI

npm uninstall -g @angular/cli

Step 2: Use npx to create a new project

npx -p @angular/cli ng new hello-world-project 

npx will download the @angular/cli package temporarily and run the ng command. BTW, npx goes with the npm installation.

Step 3: Run the ng command using the npx as well

npx ng generate component my-component

So, here the npx is smart enough again! It finds out that the ng command exists locally in ./node_modules/.bin/ directory and runs it.

That’s it and happy coding!

Follow me on Medium or Twitter to read more about Angular, JS and startups!

--

--