sushi restaurant

starlost
2 min readOct 11, 2022

--

Taken while I was eating Sushi Go! at Grand Indonesia (2022)

there’s always something about sushi restaurants.

There’s always a sense of relief whenever I walked into a sushi restaurant. Maybe it’s because of the warm big smile the staffs offered to me. Maybe it’s because their friendliness and being so helpful all the time during your stay.

The familiar smell of fresh soy sauce and fried-tempura, along with the seasonings always make me at ease. The tone of the restaurant; dim lights or a yellowed lights to make it feels cozy as if you’re home, and the minimalistic japanese interior. I always go sit in the corner, if the seats are available, to avoid to be spotted by people. Waiting for my desired sushi to pass right through me, I patiently watching the conveyer belt moves all the kind of sushi they served.

If one thing that makes me fall in love with sushi restaurants; it would be the ambience. Most of restaurants would be so crowded and filled with sounds from here and there, but you can feel some sort of tranquility in sushi restaurants. People may talk, but the sounds are very distant, and it’s almost eerily quiet, but in a good way that makes you feel good being with yourself. I never liked a crowded place as being in a place where people could easily spotted you on makes me feel insecure. But with japanese interiors, I feel safe on my own, as if I am invisible. As if no one’s ever going to notice my presence and vice versa.

Feels like I’m on my own room. With delicious hand-made sushis.

Also the art of patience to wait for your foods to come your way. It’s fascinating to keep waiting for your desired ones, just the same as waiting for your favorite song to be played on your iPod. It filled with uncertainty, but never gives you a feeling of anxiety, and won’t turn you into obnoxious either. You just sit there, taking your sweet time, until it comes your way.

And I just realized how attached I am to sushi and sushi restaurants as I keep on coming back whenever I have a rough day. There were days I could stacked up my plates so high, and there were days I only ate for two to three plates. Sushi has become my comfort food, and so does the place. It grows on me. It comforts me. It restores me.

I would like to call sushi restaurant as a second home.

--

--