Interview with pro wrestler, actor and comedian Tyrus

StarsandCelebs.com
2 min readOct 2, 2018

--

Tyrus

When you see the Mohawk, chinstrap beard, tats and the imposing 6 foot 8, 300 “noneofyourbusiness” pound frame of Tyrus, it is logical to assume that he is a professional wrestler. Then you learn that he is also an actor.

Tyrus was born George Murdoch in Boston and had a less-than-picturesque childhood in California. However, he eventually landed a football scholarship to the University of Nebraska at Kearney. After a freak incident ended his football playing, he completed his B.S. in Education and went on to take a teaching job.

Tyrus spoke with Michelle Tompkins about his personal and professional journey, his favorite movies and comics, the impact of his sometime Un-PC ideas, what kinds of TV shows he can’t abide and more.

MT: I heard that you wanted to originally be a teacher. What grade and subject were you most interested in being?

T: Well, I wanted to play football and I chased football for a little while. I had a freak injury. My appendix ruptured and I had to get emergency surgery and had some nerve endings cut that went down into my left leg, so I never really quite got it all the way back.

MT: You were a bodyguard for Snoop Dogg, is that correct?

T: Yes, ma’am. I sure was.

MT: Are you guys still friendly?

T: Yeah, we actually had a bet on the Steelers-Patriots playoff game. He hasn’t paid me yet so I’m assuming we’re still good but he tends to hold grudges. Well, he doesn’t hold grudges but I’m sure he’s nursing his wound. He took the game pretty tough, we should be all right.

MT: You said you commute from Louisiana to New York for work?

T: Yeah, no desire to live in New York. Giant buildings and it’s cold and I’m a big Patriot, Red Sox’s fan. What can I possibly do for fun in New York? [laughter]

Want to know more about Tyrus? Check out the full interview at http://starsandcelebs.com/2017/02/interview-pro-wrestler-actor-comedian-tyrus/.

--

--

StarsandCelebs.com

http://starsandcelebs.com, Dishing the sauce on stars since 1995. http://www.CHUD.com the oldest horror genre site on the web since 1993