Tiffany: The 80s Icon chats exclusively with Eileen Shapiro about her life and new “Pieces of Me”

StarsandCelebs.com
5 min readNov 24, 2018

--

Tiffany: “Pieces of Me”

Former teen idol, singer, songwriter and actress Tiffany, (born Tiffany Darwish), has celebrated the release of her brand new album called “Pieces of Me”, digitally launched September 21, the CD version on October 5th with the vinyl version out November 2nd. The record is a pop/rock fusion offering tiny elements of country and focuses on the artist’s dazzling, supreme vocals. It highlights Tiffany’s song writing and producing.

But the album is also a great reinvention of herself.

Most recognized for her cover of “I Think We’re Alone Now”, originally recorded by Tommy James and the Shondells, the song enjoyed supreme success and grew to anthem status. I spoke with Tiffany regarding her music career and her current musical accomplishments. If all you know about Tiffany is the music she made as a teenager, then you don’t know Tiffany.

Eileen Shapiro: Congratulations on your new release!

Tiffany: The vinyl just came out November 2nd.

Eileen Shapiro: Vinyl is quite popular now, it’s coming back.

Tiffany: It is. I used to have a collection, but I don’t know, I give things away. But I think it’s really cool. I just saw the album, and the fans had pre-ordered it and got to hear it at my concert in Scotland.

I’m really excited. All the cool things that we’re doing, the videos, behind the scenes… putting down official media, things like that. People could be in the studio with us, with the making of this album.

Eileen Shapiro: Very fun. Did you make the album in England?

Tiffany: I did it partly here. Then a little bit in Los Angeles. And then a little in Nashville. We wrote songs in different places, from Los Angeles to Seattle. I was on the road when I started to do this album. So with a full touring schedule, while this was happening the right songs were happening. The right people in my life were happening, it was like let’s go for it.

But it did put a little stress on things. The band would be with me and we would go just book a studio somewhere and hope it all worked out because we only had that one day. It did, and I’m a little bit addicted to that process now. I think there’s something different about that, it’s either do or die. You just need that “maybe” to watch the creative process as a musician.

I recorded this record as part of the band which was different for me.

Everything was live. So it was really fully created in the studio. That way everyone could bring what they wanted to this record, it was really inspired.

Eileen Shapiro: What inspired you to come out with this record at this time?

I’ve always been doing albums, because I’ve been an independent now for a while… I’ve merged with different labels over the years.

I think the biggest thing for me was just to be recognized as a songwriter.

I always wanted to write music but I think they never really nurtured that. So at that time it was more working with other musicians that would help me along the way and kind of encourage me to be a songwriter and to grow as a songwriter. ..That was a whole process.

Then I was in Nashville for a time and working on my craft there. So that was my thing for many, many years.

I wanted to be known as a better musician more than anything.

Of course that led to working with different producers, I did a country album which is really like the backstory. Before I even got signed as a teen I was singing with people like Hoyt Axton, and Mickey Gilley. I worked with Jerry Lee Lewis, and Little Richard. I started out at 8/9 years old. I tried to get a record deal but I was like 10, and nobody would give me a record deal.

So I went back home to Los Angeles, and I had found Stevie Nicks at that time. I was really inspired by that. I worked with a couple of different produces. But again we had the problem, I was only 12 and nobody really wanted to…..they loved my voice but they told me to come back when I was 18 years old. So the interest was on my voice but to follow through as a writer there was an image problem.

With this being my 10th record I think it’s taken me a while to turn the corner of what I’ve always envision myself doing. Which is still pop based but definitely with a more rock edge. Over the years as I’ve grown as a live performer, I think people now seriously take me as a songwriter and I’m forever again grateful.

I think on this album I definitely wanted to do something that pushed the limit a little bit. I wasn’t planning on a record at the beginning of this year, and it just ended up that my tour manager, Mark, (who is my producer now) and I were just driving on the road and talking about music.

We were having a lot of inspiration, and he said I should try to do something. In this business, a lot of people say that and it doesn’t work out. At this point I choose working with people whom I really feel that there is a connection with in music — Not just doing a project because I’m bored. If it really works out and we kind of flow: Great,

If not: it just means it was not meant to be.

But I took Mark at his word, you never know…. then the project began growing and growing and in live performance it’s even better. It’s very powerful actually.

That’s pretty much what I’m doing. I’m committed to touring. It takes a lot of time getting this record around the world. It’s been a while since I’ve been out with the whole team and a label and the full roll out. So I’m pretty excited.

See more at: https://starsandcelebs.com/2018/11/tiffany-eileen-shapiro-interview/

--

--

StarsandCelebs.com

http://starsandcelebs.com, Dishing the sauce on stars since 1995. http://www.CHUD.com the oldest horror genre site on the web since 1993