Inspired by… Julie Kim

Julie Kim Photography

Startup Mums
4 min readAug 11, 2015
Babyccinos and cappuccinos all round! Julie and her son discuss business tactics

Our inspiration this week is startup mum Julie. Not only is she responsible for the most beautiful photography (see her work at juliekimphotography.com/new_site) but she’s a successful entrepreneur to boot. Julie shares with us the hardest bits and best bits of running her business as well as some sound advice for mums looking to start up on their own.

What inspired you to start Julie Kim Photography?
I think it’s been in the back of my head most of my adult life but I never saw it as a viable career choice. It was only when I was given the “gift” of redundancy about 10 years ago (the gift of time, that is, not money!) that I jumped at the opportunity — it was now or never.

What is the most challenging aspect of running your own business?
The challenge has always been having enough time to devote to all parts of the business — and all parts are important. Now that I have a family, it’s even more of a challenge. There’s certainly less time than before, but it’s made me focus on the most important tasks and probably has made me more productive. It’s made me realise how much time I used to fritter away!

What do you love most about running your own business?
There are lots of things to love! For me, having the flexibility to define my working time is one. I’ve never been one to stick to routines and now I can work when I want. For example, if I want to take a holiday, or join a workshop, I can just block it in my diary. I often work in the middle of the night when there are no distractions. Another thing I love is working for people who I really want to work with. It took me a few years to turn down clients I didn’t think were a good match, but it was the best decision I made. They make my business worthwhile and I always want to do more for clients who are on the same wavelength.

What has made the biggest difference to your business?
A right frame of mind. I don’t need to be a millionaire, I need to know that what I’m doing is worthwhile and has purpose. Related to this is what I mentioned before, which is working with just the clients I want to work with. Saying “no” is incredibly hard but liberating at the same time.

What’s your secret to balancing a growing business while raising a family
I’d like to say “I’m very organised and outsource my admin tasks and housework” but in reality, I’m not all that organised, and my house is a mess! For me, I just take one day at a time. I have the most wonderfully supportive husband who can step in at late notice to look after our son if a job comes up. He’s probably the secret!

If you were to blend the perfect business success, what would be the three ingredients?
1. Great clients who love what you do and can create a buzz on your behalf and recommend you to everyone they know.

2. A good network of professionals, both in and out of your industry. It can sometimes feel lonely if you’re freelancing and you need to have people to bounce ideas off and find support.

3. An open mind to innovate and try new things.

What tips do you have for other mums who want to start a business?
Your idea for a business does not need to be revolutionary or new. The most important thing you can bring to your business is yourself, and how you deliver your service or products to your clients. If you have a certain talent or skill, your belief in yourself must be unshakeable.

On a more practical level, don’t wait for things to happen. Don’t wait until your website is perfect before you launch. Your blog doesn’t have to be beautifully designed — keep things simple and get the content flowing. Learn and change things as you go along but the important thing is to start. And write everything down. I have a notebook on the go all the time. Yes, pen and paper! It’s just the way I think, it’s cheap, available and I don’t have to switch it on or charge it up.

What’s next for Julie Kim Photography?
I would like to be in a position to have associate photographers who can work on my behalf, whether that be for weddings or commercial work. As I get older (!) I’m seeing the need for this. Photography can at times be quite physically demanding — I’m not sure if I’ll still be shooting when I’m 70, but I’ll most likely still be alive and needing an income.

Our #SnapAStartupMum competition winner Offspring on a String was delighted to win the prize of a professional head shots photo shoot for her business, taken by Julie. We can’t wait to see them!

#InspiredByStartupMums

--

--

Startup Mums

London-based meetups, networking events, and knowledge-sharing for mums who run their own business or are looking to start one.