Killjoys Never Die

Never let them take the light behind your eyes.

Heather Wilson
4 min readJun 20, 2014

For the past couple of months, I’ve been a massive My Chemical Romance fan and part of the MCRmy.

What annoys me, though I’m not going to go into it a lot, is that I only started listening to them post-breakup. I knew about them before, but didn’t really listen to them other than the occasional song.

But then I’ve been told that I’m not a true Killjoy because of this, and that really pisses me off.

A Killjoy is a My Chemical Romance fan. Killjoys make up the MCRmy, the Black Parade, and all of the other names for each era.

But doesn’t that mean that believing in the band, and never letting the army die is what makes you a Killjoy? It’s not how long you’ve known the band for. Is it my fault if I haven’t been there since the start in 2001?

I was six fucking months old when My Chemical Romance began, so excuse me if I wasn’t a Killjoy then.

But back to the point. My Chemical Romance was a band that wanted to save your life, so much so that it helped save frontman Gerard Way’s life once upon a time. His brother, Mikey Way, was coming back from severe depression and addiction and is just as inspirational as Gee.

Frank Iero, another member, has given so many quotes that are like a foundation for some people, like,

"You cannot, and I'm serious, you CANNOT be ashamed of who you are, no matter how much shit you get for it, or how much bullying you get, you can't change who you are for anybody else. And I know it takes a lot, but it makes you a stronger person and you'll be so happy that you didn't later on in life."

The final long-term member, Ray Toro, quoted,

“Everybody goes through rough things in their lives, us included. The best advice we can give is to never give up, and always believe in yourself because when you do that, anything is possible.”

Anyone who turns to My Chemical Romance’s music whenever they feel depressed, or lonely, or like they don’t belong has earned the right to be a Killjoy.

Lyrics from the band include:

“Never let them take the light behind your eyes.”

“And though you’re dead and gone believe me, your memory will carry on.”

“Sing it out for the ones that’ll hate your guts.”

“If you look in the mirror and don’t like what you see, you can find out first hand what it’s like to be me.”

“I see you lying next to me, with words I thought I’d never speak. Awake and unafraid, asleep or dead.”

“You don’t believe in God, I don’t believe in luck. They don’t believe in us, but I believe we’re the enemy.”

“You only hear the music when your heart begins to break.”

“Some might say we are made from the sharpest things. You say we are young and we don’t care. Your dreams and your hopeless hair. We never wanted it to be this way for all our lives. Do you care at all?”

“They only care if you can bleed.”

“Cleaned up corporation progress. Dying in the process. Children that can talk about it, living on the railways. People moving sideways. Sell it till your last days. Buy yourself the motivation generation nothing. Nothing but a dead scene. Product of a white dream. I am not the singer that you wanted but a dancer. I refuse to answer. Talk about the past sir. Running for the ones who want to get away. Keep running.

“If I could be with you tonight, I would send you to sleep, never let them take the light behind your eyes. I’ll fail and lose this fight, never fade in the dark, just remember you will always burn as bright.”

“Sometimes we must grow stronger and you can’t be stronger in the dark.”

“So long, and goodnight.”

“I am not afraid to keep on living, I am not afraid to walk this world alone.”

“Do or die, you’ll never make me. Because the world will never take my heart.”

“We’ll carry on, and though you’re broken and defeated, your weary window marches.”

“Everybody wants to change the world but no one wants to die.”

“Singing songs that make you slit your wrists. Isn’t that much fun staring down a loaded gun? So I won’t stop dying, won’t stop lying. If you want I’ll keep crying. Did you get what you deserve? Is this what you always want me for?”

“What’s the worst that I could say? Things are better if I stay.”

“Make a choice if the music drowns you out.”

“I just wanted you to know that the world is ugly.”

“I don’t love you like I loved you yesterday.”

So that’s it. That’s my rant for today. Ending in incredible lyrics, written by a man who has been through depression, suicidal thoughts and drugs. Performed by the band that helped him through it.

So long, and goodnight My Chemical Romance

“It is not a band, it is an idea.”

Never let them take the light behind your eyes.

--

--

Heather Wilson

“Keep listening to music, cause it gets you through everything, I promise.” — Mitch Lucker . . . “Never let them take the light behind your eyes” — MCR