Use technology for a greater purpose

Stefania Coco Scalisi
3 min readMay 2, 2016

--

Hi,

My name is Stefania, I come from Italy and I had the idea of an app that can help you in many different occasions because as an IR and security consultant I frequently travel alone and I have experienced dangerous situations.

Once, for example, I was followed by a man who harassed me on a bus in Beirut, Lebanon, and only thanks to the bus driver and the other people on the bus he decided to get off. That time I was lucky, but it is not always like that.

I have realized that often we don’t have time or the physical strength to ask for help. We can be wounded, confused, have little time or be simply alone. That’s why I have thought to create an app that will send your GPS location and a HELP message to the favorite contacts of your phone and that works by simply touching its icon.

Best thing about this APP…it will be forever FREE!

Why doing a Indiegogo? Don’t I have enough work already?

1. Balance cannot come from work only
I have had different jobs and I used to believe that it was important to be happy with my work in order to make everything else balance (love, friends, passions, family, etc.). Now, it’s the opposite. I love my job but I am convinced that balance comes from other things like a project you do on the side.

2. A culture of shared experiences.
Travelling the world and having friends that come from and live in different parts of it I have learned that the experiences we share and the things we do together, as friends, are what matter the most. Doing an Indiegogo campaign is a great example. The core of crowdfunding is to help each other realizing our goals together! That’s why I have decided to run such a campaign even if I knew in Italy crowdfunding is not very popular and people do not feel comfortable in funding other people’s ideas!

3. Use technology with a purpose.
Our lives these days is made of computers, smartphones and other digital tools. Although it is undeniable their importance, I thoight of a way to make technology useful for a greater purpose. We often spend time on the internet or on technology tools without getting anything valuable from them. Technology is powerful, but it has to have purpose to be irrepleaceable!

The design process I went through

As I severely lack tech skills, I have decided to design an app the more intuitive as possible. That was the main request I made to my app developer who, on the contrary, had to silence his engineer desire to make something super complicated and tech advanced!!

Second step of my journey was to design a logo and find a good name for the app. That was easy and I could use all my creativity to deliver a message through it: this an app that could help people, so it has to be colorful and simple!

Third step…the crowdfunding campaign! As I said before, I truly believe in crowdfunding and in sharing experiences. As I said, Internet is a powerful tool, and when it is applied to a social purpose it can become essential. That’s why I have decided to call for people’ support and generosity: that is an app that is born thinking of people’s difficult experiences and aim to help the people not to find themselves in similar situations in the future.

To conclude

I believe technology has to serve a bigger purpose in order to be useful and make a change. I want to be part of the group of people that commit to make a change. I know there are many who are trying to do the same in different ways, in different parts of the world. This app is born with this purpose. To know more about it, check the campaign at this link https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/be-safe-app/x/13787207#/. If you like it, help me realizing it! Together we can be the change the world needs!

--

--