The Journey Is More Important Than The Destination

3 Tips For How To Focus on and Enjoy The Process of Success

Stefan James
5 min readJan 17, 2019

--

Do you know what the expression, “The journey is more important than the destination” really means? If you want to be successful, listen up!

Life is a series of small moments. The goal of life isn’t to acquire things. Rather, it’s about learning how to focus on and enjoy the process of success.

If you obsess about the final outcome, you end up missing out on all the amazing things that happen along the way.

Are you ready to learn 3 tips on how to focus on and enjoy the process of success?

Do you want to learn 5 mistakes to avoid when setting goals? CLICK HERE to read my blog post!

I used to live by the rule — “All that matters is that you make it to the finish line.” I thought that if I had the fancy car and the big house, then I would finally be deemed a success. Ultimately, all I was doing was delaying my happiness until I reached my goals.

In his best-selling book, Before Happiness: The 5 Hidden Keys to Achieving Success, Spreading Happiness, and Sustaining Positive Change, Harvard-trained researcher, Shawn Anchor defines happiness as “the joy one feels striving for one’s potential.” He argues that small mental victories lead to an outpouring of success based on positive changes.

The problem I was coming up against was that every time I reached a specific milestone, I would quickly move onto the next goal. I was like a hamster on a wheel, never satisfied, always moving to something bigger and better. I was addicted to achievement.

Sounds like a noble badge of honor, right? Unfortunately not. Trust me when I say that this mindset only causes stress and frustration. If you are constantly looking too far into the future, you miss out on a lot.

Don’t get me wrong… I’m not saying that goals aren’t important.

I’m a goal-oriented individual and I pride myself on my ability to set and achieve my goals. However, my success in life has been due, in large part, to my commitment to learning how to enjoy the process of life as it unfolds.

Through trial and error, I’ve learned that goal attainment is merely a by-product of your journey towards success. It’s not the result that matters. Rather, it’s the lessons that you learn and the person that you become. The people who win at life enjoy the journey and the anticipation of success.

If you are constantly looking for ways that you can get from start to finish with a hop, skip and a jump, keep reading. I’ve got 3 tips for how you can enjoy the process, while still working towards the achievement of your goals.

1. Enjoy The Present Moment

Life is unfolding in this present moment. Unfortunately, too many people look too far ahead and miss out on what is in front of them. They worry about what’s to come, instead of paying attention to what is in front of them.

I encourage you to be more mindful of how you move through your day and pay attention to your thoughts. Research shows that mindful people are happier, more exuberant, more empathetic, and more secure. By being more present, you will become more self-aware and make better decisions that serve your highest self.

“In order to feel more in control of our minds and our lives, to find the sense of balance that eludes us, we need to step out of this current, to pause, and to rest in stillness — to stop doing and focus on just being.” — Jon Kabat-Zinn

Remember that success isn’t a sprint. Rather, it’s a marathon. Whatever you want to achieve in life will require that you pace yourself. Enjoy this moment because you can’t get it back.

2. Celebrate Your Progress

Don’t wait for the “ big win” to feel good about yourself. Instead, take note of the progress that you make every step of the way. Every small milestone that you achieve deserves recognition.

“In this life, if you don’t celebrate yourself, nobody will.” — Kevin Williams

If you give yourself credit for the small achievements that you make along the way, you will be motivated to take on bigger goals. In a study of how everyday life inside organizations can influence a person’s performance, researchers analyzed nearly 12,000 diary entries from 238 employees across seven companies. They found that capturing small wins every day enhances a worker’s motivation.

When is the last time that you celebrated your progress? What was your achievement and how did you celebrate yourself? If you can’t answer this question, it’s time to start acknowledging your accomplishments. This is an integral part of falling in love with the process.

3. Live Your Life Purpose

Too many people waste their lives living someone else’s dreams. They allow others to drown out their inner voices. If you can relate to this way of being, I want you to take a deep breath right now and stop.

Trust that you are here for a reason. You have something amazing to offer the world. Learning to accept and own your awesomeness is critical to sharing your gifts.

As Steve Jobs once said, “People with passion can change the world.”

When you live your life purpose and align with that truth, you enjoy the process of becoming your best self. Everything starts to flow with ease. All of a sudden, work no longer feels like work anymore. Rather, it’s just you, being in your power and doing what you do best.

The journey is more important than the destination.

Don’t measure your success based on your results alone. Learn how to focus on and enjoy the process of success. Appreciate the countless hours of time, energy and practice that you invest in your dreams. If you do this, I promise that you will achieve your goals faster.

Thank you for reading! If you liked this article, please give it a clap.

Feel free to leave a comment below. Follow me on Instagram, Twitter or check out my website, Project Life Mastery!

--

--

Stefan James

I’m a life and online business strategist dedicated to helping you create freedom and master your life. To learn more, go to: http://www.projectlifemastery.com