How to increase the PHP 7.2 memory_limit on Mac OS

Stefan Ledin
2 min readAug 15, 2019

--

I just ran a simple composer require [...] command in a Laravel project on my local machine.

And so it begins!

PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 1073741824 bytes exhausted [...]

Really? Locally, on my computer? Anyway, Composer has a helpful section covering this topic on the Troubleshooting page.

So I ran the command below and it told me the memory limit only was 128 mb.

$ php -r “echo ini_get(‘memory_limit’).PHP_EOL;”

Okay, so I just have to change a value in my php.ini file. But where is it?
This command will tell you:

$ php --initConfiguration File (php.ini) Path: /usr/local/etc/php/7.2
Loaded Configuration File: /usr/local/etc/php/7.2/php.ini
Scan for additional .ini files in: /usr/local/etc/php/7.2/conf.d
/usr/local/etc/php/7.2/conf.d/php-memory-limits.ini

So I opened up the/usr/local/etc/php/7.2/php.ini file and changed the memory_limit setting from 128 to -1

Nothing happened!

But the problem remained. Now what?
It turned out that if I ran php --init again and took a more careful look, the php-memory-limits.ini file that is listed sounds like something I should do something with.

; Max memory per instance
memory_limit = 128M
;The maximum size of an uploaded file.
upload_max_filesize = 128M
;Sets max size of post data allowed. This setting also affects file upload. To upload large files, this value must be larger than upload_max_filesize
post_max_size = 128M

There we have it! Once again, I changed memory_limit from 128M to -1

And the final touch:

$ brew services restart php

There we have it!

--

--

Stefan Ledin

Web developer who makes fast WordPress sites with clean code and awesome backends. Also, JavaScript is nice!