Solve the “You are using the runtime-only build of Vue” error

Stefan Ledin
1 min readFeb 22, 2018

--

So I was just trying to make a simple demo project with Express and Vue.js. But I almost immediately ran into the following error in the console:

[Vue warn]: You are using the runtime-only build of Vue where the template compiler is not available. Either pre-compile the templates into render functions, or use the compiler-included build.

My very basic setup looked like this at the time:

After a lot of research, I found a clue in the webpack-simple template at GitHub.

I copied and pasted some things that looked interesting and ended up with the following webpack.config.js :

That solved my problem. Hope it does for you to 😃

--

--

Stefan Ledin

Web developer who makes fast WordPress sites with clean code and awesome backends. Also, JavaScript is nice!