Firmament continues [Week 2]

S. Lange-Hegermann
1 min readJul 20, 2018

--

It was a slow week for Firmament, my employee reward system for slack that uses a branded token powered by ost.com. But before I get started check out what happened in week 1.

Firmament is moving to a new server. From self hosted Dokku on a tiny virtual server to the “real cloud” at Heroku. I am planning to make Firmament available to other Slack environments besides my own Firmament slack and I figured it would be good if it was scaleable and monitored by professionals before I do so. Moving the application was seamless. Dokku is pretty much a Heroku clone on your own server, so it was easy to switch.

Moving it so early was a mistake though. I had to move my database backend (MongoDB) to the new server, which would not have been necessary had I implemented the new ledger API first. Transactions are duplicated inside mongoDB right now, because I was not able to retrieve them from the blockchain before the ledger API existed.

Which leads me to the backlog for next week: I will implement the ledger API and add a history method to the Chatbot. These features will be available in the official Firmament Slack sometime next week.

--

--

S. Lange-Hegermann

Maker of fine products. Lean aficionado. Runner. Billionaire. Foodie. Inventor of the Joystick. “Lies can’t sell without an atom of truth.”