StefBlackGenX
2 min readApr 27, 2022

What DJ Kay Slay’s Music Did For Me

From left to right: Big L, DJ Kay Slay and Chip Banks/Photo Credit: bigl_139 via Instagram

Rest in power to the great “Drama King” DJ Kay Slay. This brotha was a multifaceted talent indeed. I loved how often he would exclaim, “MORE THAN JUST A DJ!” at the end of his hot tracks!

Throughout the 2000s, I remember looking forward to hearing Kay’s jams on Hot 97 every week before heading out to a basement party or a hip-hop club in either Brooklyn (where I live) or Harlem. Some weeks, he came on late (I was already at a random spot gettin’ down), and I remember the radio blaring, “WARNING WARNING, THE DRAMA KING IS IN THE BUILDING!” Kay would repeat it and then rock the latest 50 Cent/Ashanti/Nelly/Beyonce (among many hot artists) joints on his ones-and-twos. Those were great party days!

Photo credit: DatPiff

My favorite Kay tracks are “Blockstars — Remix,” “Too Much For Me,” “I Got U,” and last but not least, “Alphabetical Slaughter.”

DJ Kay Slay and Papoose (driver)/Photo credit: 2DopeBoyz

I wasn’t going for a Pulitzer with this story lol…I just had to honor Bro Kay Slay with a couple of memories from the heart.

StefBlackGenX

I am a freelance journalist who reports on unsung and celebrity Generation X rappers, DJs, and R&B/Hip Hop singers and the projects they're working on.