The apps I use as an iOS developer

Steffen D. Sommer
4 min readJan 12, 2015

I love reading about which apps people use, specially for iOS development. I figured it was time I shared my setup.

Development

AppCode

After refusing using AppCode many times, I finally ended up having AppCode as my main iOS development IDE. It took me some time getting use to it, but I really do feel that I’m saving time over Xcode.

Xcode

Even though I’m a fan of AppCode, I still use Xcode for interface building and editing project settings.

Tower

My favourite git client for the mac.

Kaleidoscope

My choice of diff tool. Worth the money? Yee.. kind of. It looks great!

Paw

One of my recent purchases. I used to use the Postman extension for Chrome, but I prefer to have it as a standalone app. And oh ye, I don’t use Chrome. I really like Paw!

CodeRunner

I never actually understood the need for using an app as CodeRunner until I figured that it’s simply just more convenient in some cases. I use it when developing small snippets or when transforming Java (don’t ask) into Objective-C/Swift.

Dash

This app has ended up being inreplaceable. I use Dash for my personal snippets (synced using iCloud) and for reading documentation. Always googling that ReactiveCocoa method? Use Dash and save yourself some time. It is really convenient.

Base

When I’m doing some Rails development I use Base for checking out my local SQLite database. It does the job.

Sequel Pro

My go-to MySQL database client app. I use it if I’m doing any web development.

Atom

My current code editor when doing web development or if I’m opening raw text files. I really liked Sublime Text but.. Neither Atom or Sublime Text feels native. I tend to switch between the two, but for now, Atom is the editor I use.

Hues

A somewhat simple tool for a somewhat simple purpose: handling colors. I use Hues if I want to copy off some color I stumple upon or if I want to convert a color into another format.

Sketch

I love Sketch. I used to do quite a lot of graphics back in the days when I did a lot of web development (even though I’m a rather big amateur as being the graphics guy) and also I just like to be able to do the basic graphics stuff when developing. I use Sketch for designing my own apps or for checking up on sizes and stuff when being handed over designs for apps.

Pixelmator

With Sketch and Pixelmator, I do not need (or use) the rather pricy Illustrator and Photoshop. I use Pixelmator for simple resizing, cropping or other asset manipulation.

Reflector

When needing to present apps, it somehow always is the case that neither an AppleTV is present or the proper cable for showing apps directly from your phone. I use Reflector to demo apps through my laptop.

Productivity

Alfred

I use Alfred as a replacement for the OSX built-in Spotlight. It works great together with Dash and I have some minor workflows I use from time to time. I also use the built-in clipboard manager, which is now irreplaceable.

Mou

When doing README files or other mark down stuff I open Mou. It’s simple and it does the job.

Wunderlist

I lost count on how many times I’ve changed my todo apps. I am the kind of guy who does a lot of todo’s, and because of that I want to have app(s) that works awesome. Wunderlist is my current todo app.

1Password

The days of remembering passwords are over!.. Or almost. I couldn’t live without 1Password. It generates and remembers almost all of my passwords (and syncs them using iCloud). I only remember my login password to my computer and my iCloud password.

Cinch

I never really understood the green OSX window button (named?) pre-Yosemite. Post-Yosemite I just think it’s a bit obtrusive. For once, I like the Windows behavior (I know..) more. Because of that, I use Cinch.

Evernote

My favourite note taking app. I use it both for time management or taking small notes during my workday and in my private time.

Toggl

Although, it is easy to get annoyed with the constant app updates, Toggl really is a great service. I use it for time logging when doing freelance stuff. Did I say it has great free plan?

CloudApp

After Droplr changed their plans, I started using CloudApp. I think I liked Droplr a bit more, but CloudApp does the job. I use this when sending quick screenshots to people. Quite convenient.

Entertainment

Deezer

Spotify does not work that great together with my Sonos sound system. Therefore I started to use Deezer instead. I think it is okay, and their beta mac app is getting there. I use it everyday.

Radium

When not listening to tracks through Deezer I use Radium for local radio listening. It’s simple and somewhat good looking.

Bonus category: Xcode plugins

I use Alcatraz for Xcode plugin management. Here are some of my favourite plugins:

AdjustFontSize
Auto-Importer
Backlight
Base16 Ocean
BBUDebuggerTuckAway
BBUUtilitiesTuckAway
FuzzyAutocomplete <- I love this one
GitDiff
Jumper
KSImageNamed
MCLog
OMColorSense
OMQuickHelp
QuickLocalization
XQuit
XToDo

Feel free to let me know if I missed any cool apps — I love changing how I work. Thank you.

--

--

Steffen D. Sommer

Technical leader from Copenhagen, Denmark. Excited about cutting edge technology. Love to travel and a big fan of boards 🏂🏄