HOW TO HALLUCINATE WITHOUT DRUGS

Stellabelle
Into The Raw
3 min readJul 15, 2015

--

I am going to teach you how to experience a hallucination without taking drugs. Hallucinations are greatly misunderstood by most people. It is commonly thought that the only way to have a hallucination is to ingest a drug, like LSD. That is a sure way to experience a hallucination but there are much safer ways to experience them. Also, when you take a drug like LSD, you don’t know how the drug might affect your brain. It could really mess you up. I have never taken LSD and have experienced many great hallucinations in my lifetime. I’ve experienced a myriad of strange apparitions that were self-generated including: fiery-headed monster, a giant white lizard, a scuba diver swimming in my apartment, a bejewelled African religious diety, a boy, a snow landscape of dismembered bodies, a floating head and others. When I first began having hallucinations, they scared me because I had no control over them. I have not had a surprise hallucination in 6 years. However, I am able to access this part of my brain easily now. In the following article, you will find the various methods I now use to achieve hallucinations. I use hallucinations to measure my inner state of mind and for entertainment purposes. It’s a lot like going to see a movie, except that it’s free, and I get to be the director.

SLEEP DEPRIVATION

By denying your brain of sleep, you increase the chances of your subconscious images leaking out into your external environment. After you have successfully denied yourself of sleep for one night, sit in a darkened room. Make sure and drape towels or blankets into piles on the floor. Stare at those piles for a long time until images start to form out of the piles of blankets. This works for me every time. The crevices and other shapes caused by the piles of blankets work really well for your mind’s creative urges. They are like silly putty for your brain.

STRESS

Get really stressed out about something. Perhaps you already feel stressed out about your job, relationship or financial situation. Go deep into your fears. Go deeper than you normally would. Then, go outside, by yourself at night when it’s really dark. Ideally, you should have trees in your sight. Wind helps, too. Stare at the trees for a long time until forms or images appear to you. You might see a couple kissing, or a joker jumping up and down. Or you might see a huge chimpanzee flailing her right knee around. When I lived in Oceanside, California, I passed by a giant tree on my way home. At night, I would always “see” a huge monkey waving to me, protecting me as I made my way to my apartment. I viewed this monkey as my protector to a safe return home.

DRAWING

Get a pen and a piece of paper. Try to empty your mind completely of pre-determined images. Put the pen on the paper and just mindlessly draw some lines. What does it look like to you? Whatever you see, start drawing it. This is the way that I do 90% of my artwork. I normally have no idea what I will make. Instead, I go about it in a completely organic way. This exercise allows you to freely express what’s inside of you without passing judgement on your abilities. I was told in second grade that I couldn’t draw. I have trouble drawing external reality, true, and this is what that teacher was talking about. But, as far as drawing internal worlds, I’m an expert. I am able to access my imagination without trying now. I’ve spent a lifetime cultivating this talent. For me, hallucinating and creativity are intricately related. I make little distinction between the two. The funny thing is, it’s in everyone one of us. You’ve been duped if you think only artists have the ability to access their imaginations. What you need to access your imagination is freedom and time alone. Find me on the social media channels if you’d like to learn more. Search for Stellabelle.

--

--