How a sock helps increasing focus

Pavel Stepanov
2 min readMay 4, 2022

--

In Harry Potter books sock is the symbol of freedom. And a sock can give the freedom to us, too!

I noticed that my phone takes a lot of my attention and time. So I found a way to fight it. I put my phone into a sock. If you are not impressed by the idea there are two benefits:

  • It is harder to reach the phone. Each impediment before starting scrolling Instagram counts;
  • The phone is not visible. Brain circuits associated with the visual of the phone will not get activated;

I did some research at my home lab: the sock’s length is proportional to my productivity! Here is the function:

There are other ways to reach the same benefits:

  • Hide the phone under a piece of paper so it is not visible;
  • Keep it in the other room or at least outside of the reach;
  • Turn it off completely;
  • Throw the phone away;

But why destroy the fun?

Photo by Nick Page on Unsplash

--

--