What I learned after getting a pixie cut

Stephanie Ales
4 min readOct 30, 2016

Since I was a preteen I had been working up the courage to get a pixie cut. This summer, I finally took the leap. I love the simple elegance of a great pixie, and I envied those with the small, symmetrical faces that were able to pull them off. Women with pixies always seemed so stylish and sassy— I had to have one. But what would I look like? Would I be able to style my hair? I’m not one of those creative types that can find 10 different ways to wear their hair. As my friends and family can attest to, I’ve never been afraid of cutting my hair. That being said, a pixie is a Whole New World.

Here are some things I learned after I finally said yes to Pixiedom.

  1. Expect to ditch your old hair products and buy a quality hair paste. This means goodbye for your serums and leave-in conditioner. You’ll notice even your secret weapon dry shampoo isn’t as necessary anymore. Bonus: there are fewer bottles cluttering up your bathroom.
  2. Remember that you’re still you. At first getting a pixie can be shocking when you walk past glass windows leaving the salon and don’t recognize your reflexion. I felt nervous about revealing my new hair to certain individuals. For some reason, (*cough* the patriarchy *cough*) I thought people might make misplaced cultural, sexual, or social judgements about me. However, as I fell in love with my hair, I felt fewer doubts and a building confidence in my choice. With any good haircut, it’s a big change that will make you feel more you after you adjust. People will notice that confidence and usually won’t question it. If they do question you, by that point you won’t care because you’ll be rocking it.
  3. If you get a fresh pixie, go somewhere public immediately. When I left the salon I was giddy but a little uncertain until I stopped at a nearby target and two women complimented my hair. You’ll discover quickly that a pixie is eye-catching and has built-in style. People started complimenting my hair way more often (Although this might be in part because of my laziness about styling my hair before I cut it).
  4. Women will automatically assume you’re “brave”. Men will think your hair is cool.
  5. You might be more excited about makeup if you get a pixie. I love that my hair makes me feel stylish, but with my small frame, sometimes I can feel a little boyish. There are days when I embrace this and wear clothes inspired by menswear. In my “feminine moments” I spend a little more time on makeup. Spending more time on makeup means emphasizing certain features, like large eyes and lips. *Note: I also wear earrings more often — now you can actually see them!
  6. All of your clothes will look different. Hooray, a whole new closet you didn’t have to spend hundreds on!
  7. A pixie can be styled in more ways than you think. Pixies are all about subtlety. Wearing your hair sleek and shiny for formal events looks way different than giving your bangs some lift in the front on edgy days. Also, accessories can be your best friend. Vintage hair pins are my favorite.
  8. You’ll use less shampoo. Also you don’t have to wash your hair as often.
  9. Pixies keep those gross webs of hair out of your shower drain. And your clothes. And your blankets. And your boyfriend’s/girlfriend’s/sister’s/cousin’s/friend’s house.
  10. It will take you 5 minutes to get ready. Seriously, I save SO much time doing my hair with a pixie!
  11. People might think you’re older/younger than you are. I fell into the first category because people think I look like a 16-year-old and I’m actually 22. Getting a pixie changed all that because despite how hair trends have changed, many still think young women in their 20s don’t chop off their beautiful hair. *Eye roll* Anyway, I guess I’m 30 now.
  12. Expect more haircut$. Up until I got a pixie, getting a haircut was a once-a-year big event for me. Now haircuts are more of a general upkeep thing so I don’t grow an accidental mullet. Keep in mind the extra visits to the salon if you’re on a tight budget.
  13. I am one sassy lady. Discovering that I could pull off a pixie was a total ego boost! I could no longer hide behind my hair I had worn similar ways since high school, and I was forced into a new kind of confidence. At this point in life, I’m a ‘new professional’ in their early twenties who’s tripping through most things and praying I can fake it until I make it. I will use anything I can to back up the image of relaxed composure I want to project when I’m running into the office spilling coffee and not 100% feeling life. Because if you’re going somewhere, you might as well boldly go.

--

--

Stephanie Ales

Minneapolis-based writer with an affinity for learning.