23 Things You Need To Know Before Going To Medellin, Colombia

Medellin, Colombia is quickly becoming the go-to spot for tourism, entrepreneurship, and the digital nomad crowd.

If you’ve done research about this city, there’s no doubt you’ve seen your fair share of lists explaining how and why folks chose to live in Medellin, Colombia (I even wrote about the 5 reasons I moved to Medellin).

I have lived there for one year, and these are the 23 things I wish I had known before going to Medellin. These small tips will no doubt make a BIG impact on your visit or relocation.

  1. There are 32 provinces in Colombia. Antioquia is the name of the province/department that houses the city of Medellin. This is important because you will hear the word “Antioquia” A LOT.

These are the32 Provinces of Colombia. Antioquia (in the purple) is home of Medellin.

2. There are specific nicknames for people from different parts of Colombia. For example, people from Antioquia (refer to #1) are called Paisas. If you are from Bogota, you are referred to as a Rolo. From a coastal town? You are a Costeño.

3. The water here is drinkable. Drink it. I drink it every day. It has drastically reduced my horrible habit of buying plastic…

--

--

Stephanie Linder (@lostinlinderland)

I quit the job and moved to Colombia, it changed my spirit. I write about what Colombia taught me, and share with others the best parts of Medellin, Colombia.