My dev setup 2022

Stephan Tromer
8 min readJan 13, 2022

As a developer, I am continually trying to make my work easier and more automated. This includes both software and hardware, but also the peripherals. To achieve this, I am always on the lookout for tools or tricks to incorporate into my workflow. Every developer has his or her own workflow and you can always pick up something from each other. So, in this blog, I will share the apps, tools, tips, and tricks I am using in my daily (Mac) workflow to boost my productivity.

Hopefully you will learn something new and if you will incorporate something in your daily workflow, let me know!

Without hardware there is no software, so let’s start with the hardware and peripherals that are on my desk.

I’m using a 2019 MacBook Pro 16" (can’t wait for a M1 MacBook) with 32 GB of RAM and a 500 GB hard disk.

I am using the following peripherals:

  • an iiyama G-Master Red Eagle GB3461WQSU-B1 ultrawide monitor. I highly recommend an ultrawide monitor because it gives you the additional screen estate. It greatly improves your multitasking and gives you the option of running multiple apps next to each other. For example having the documentation and your editor open…

--

--