On Rain

Stephen Anspach
2 min readApr 10, 2018

--

I have mixed feelings about rain. On the one hand, sitting quietly with a hot cup of coffee and reading a good book on a rainy afternoon is one of my favorite ways to pass the time. When the weather is warm, I’ll crack a window so I can feel the humidity — a comforting, almost viscous, sensation on my skin. The gentle rhythm of the raindrops sooth my soul, our planet’s free white-noise machine. There’s something calming about rainfall; it sharpens my awareness of the outdoor world and reminds me of our connection to the environment and the eternal cycle of water that keeps us alive.

On the other hand, it’s wet.

Similar to most people, I enjoy watching rain much more than I like sleeping in it. Appreciating the joys of a rainstorm can be difficult while staring in dim light at the soaked roof of a poorly-pitched tent, listening to the pitter-patter of raindrops drench your sleeping bag. It’s easy to get down on rain while bitter cold water is turning your shirt into a poor excuse for a sponge.

When in these situations, I remind myself of the necessity of rain. For all the misery that rainwater sometimes entails, we can’t survive without the stuff. A long string of drought years here in California have hammered home the consequences of not having enough precipitation. No rain equals no life. Inevitably, this sobering thought is enough for me to recognize the virtues of this unique and magical substance, embrace it’s inherent “wet-ness,” and give thanks to Mother Nature every time the skies open up and the rain comes streaming down.

You may not be thirsty right now, but millions of your fellow human beings are. Water.org is a wonderful charity that has empowered 10 million people with access to safe water and sanitation. Why not help out and make a donation today?

If you liked this piece, please click the 👏 button to help others find it!

To get notified when I publish new stories, join my mailing list. To see more images from the One-Frame Stories series, search for the hashtag #1fstories on Instagram or Twitter.

--

--

Stephen Anspach

Traveler, skier, philomath. Relentlessly curious. ちょっと日本語。