“Once more into the fray, into the last good fight I’ll ever know. Live and die on this day, live and die on this day”

Mental Health and Movies
3 min readMay 12, 2017

--

If you read my last post then the film I chose was Joe Carnahan’s The Grey (2011). I skipped the whiskey. Alcohol still isn’t on the cards for me. But I needed something that would help me escape for a few hours. 6 minutes in and Liam Neeson has a gun in his mouth and I’m thinking “maybe this wasn’t the best choice when your mood’s low”. But then the quote above comes along and I remember the point of the film, a fight for survival, and suddenly my choice makes perfect sense. See here I am once again, fighting to survive the sudden, aggressive charge of anxiety. Watching this film I start to realise, “hell it could be worse, I could have been in a plane crash and hunted by wolves in freezing conditions”.

What I love most about the medium of film is how it speaks to me when I need it to the most. I have a knack for picking a film to watch at just the right moment in my life,were the themes or story are just what I need to hear. In my head I was thinking “you need Shawshank” but something stopped me from picking it. I haven’t quite hit that point yet. The point I have hit is where I wake every morning with a feeling of dread in the pit of my stomach. I don’t want to spend my days alone but everyone I know is in work. By the time deadlines close, interviews are arranged and people are hired, It could be another month before I see a change in fortune. So I’m filling my time with writing. And as many films as I can squeeze in. Some DIY about the house and a lot of cleaning helps pass the time.

Back to the film. If you’ve never seen it I highly recommend it. Marketed as “Liam Neeson vs Wolves” it is so much more. A tale of survival in the harshest conditions against the worst odds. And here I am complaining that I’m not working and comfortable financially. But then that’s what anxiety does to you. It can’t be helped it just takes over. I start overthinking things again, I stop concentrating on the film. Then, a scene where the survivors stare down a bunch of wolves gets me thinking. Stare down your problems. Don’t run away. Face them head on. I’ve been trying. I have an interview next week, meetings with some people who can hopefully help and I’m being as proactive as I can be. But as anyone who suffers from anxiety or depression knows, you can only do so much before it takes hold again. But from here on I will try to be more positive. Not just about the future, but about where I am in life. There are millions of people worse off than I am. And I need to remember that daily. That as bad as things seem, I can be grateful that I’m still in the position I’m in. At least I know my first love will always be there to help. I don’t know where I would be without films. They teach me so many life lessons that they replaced the father I never had growing up. Maybe that will be the subject of my next post. The lessons I’ve been taught by cinema. But for now off I go into the fray, into the last good fight I’ll ever know — and I plan to live on this day.

--

--

Mental Health and Movies

Love movies. Anxiety gets in the way. The search for a warm place with no memory continues