Mental Health and Movies
3 min readJul 3, 2020

The Power of Nostalgia in Film

“Nostalgia is a powerful feeling; it can drown out anything.” – TERRENCE MALICK

It has been a long time since I wrote here. I guess I had my shit under control for a while and then Covid-19 hit and we all discovered what mental health really was. I’ve been on furlough for 4 months now. And my wife is working from home. Safe to say it’s been pretty lonely! But once again I turn to film to provide the respite and joy that I needed.

But I discovered something new about film. Well maybe not new. But something I don’t think I properly thought about before now. When lockdown started I decided now was the time to watch the films I wanted to see but never got around to. So for the first week I watched several new films for the first time and each one left me feeling unenthusiastic. There was a void that I just couldn’t fill. I thought to myself maybe this is so bad that not even the power of film can make me feel better. Then it clicked – I was watching films I hadn’t seen before instead of films I knew I loved. So I changed it up. And in doing so I discovered the one thing that has helped me manage this difficult 4 months – the power of nostalgia.

It started when the UK finally got Disney plus. I watched some old classics, films I loved as a kid that I hadn’t seen in forever. They even have a ‘nostalgic series’ and ‘throwback’ section with titles like The Mighty Ducks, Three Men and a Baby and its sequel, Sister Act 1/2 and Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. They say nostalgia is like a drug, and the euphoria of watching these films gave me a high I hadn’t experienced with the films I was watching when lockdown first started. The buzz of hearing ‘quack, quack, quack’ and ‘Joyful, Joyful’ from some of my favourite classic films was overwhelming, to the point where I felt emotional when I never had before.

After years of struggling with mental health issues, it was strange to find such warmth in things that I always had around me. Rather than searching Netflix for films I had never seen, I began looking for films I hadn’t seen in years. I had a week of disaster films (Dante’s Peak, Daylight, The Day After Tomorrow), I had a Marvel day of Infinity War and Endgame (again), I had a comedy week (Jump Street films, The Hangover Trilogy) and just general classics like Jurassic Park, Jaws, Independence Day, Indiana Jones etc.

While I understand many have struggled with working from home, being unemployed, needing food banks etc, it doesn’t mean that those on furlough and still collecting at least some of their wage haven’t had a hard time. I hate sitting around. I also love my job and can’t wait to get back to it. I have issues with not being in control and like everyone I have no control over what’s currently happening. Everyone has their issues with lockdown and the current climate of fear and anxiety and while some may be struggling more than others, we are all struggling. Don’t underestimate how good nostalgia can be during this difficult time. Don’t worry about catching up on the latest books, TV and films. Instead find comfort in things you know you love. Read that book you’ve read before but really enjoyed. Watch an old TV show that you enjoyed from start to finish (I did Parks and Recreation for the 3rd time). And if like me you miss the cinema, then watch the films you saw there. Remember the feeling of sitting down in the cinema with the excitement you first had and relive the magic all over again. Smile when your favourite part happens, laugh at a joke you’ve heard several times before and cry at the sad parts you know are coming. Immerse yourself in the art and media that you already know and love and allow the power of nostalgia to overwhelm you. Hopefully you’ll be just as surprised as I was at the connection you make to it.

Mental Health and Movies

Love movies. Anxiety gets in the way. The search for a warm place with no memory continues