Twitter

Changing your mind is what Twitter is all about

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2014

--

Updated 9 September, 2015

Twitter may be divided into three main groups.

  1. Those who have one active, unprotected account and show their identity by a visible name and a clear bio.

2 Those which are accounts of services, publications, businesses and may be assumed to be a good resource for those interested in said enterprises.

3. Into a large and amorphous third category I would lump the accounts of persons whose aims are to foster hate, the accounts of those who are selling Twitter followers, accounts of non-persons or whoever we wish to call those whose accounts do not reach anyone real, but who might activate one or another bot-like response.

The only category that interests me is 1. I try to follow persons whose names and bios are clear and interesting. I have learned over time that many who follow me are essentially inactive — defined as accounts that have not been active for three months. I now seek to follow only active, public accounts.

Here is what I love.

Pages filled with tweets that show the person has a mind of their own — either by having individual observations or by retweeting good stuff.

Pages that show the person is focused on something that interests me. Like art, culture, politics, music, the future, etc.

My Twitter Home is impossible because it is a melange of thousands that I follow and a whole lot that I don’t.

Lists are the way I gather those whose ideas interest me. I also try to go to the pages of those who retweet my tweets. I try to retweet some of their tweets sometimes. And I have begun to follow folk who are among their recent followers.

If a stranger to the Internet asked me what Twitter is I would say with some enthusiasm, it is the world as it is becoming. It is where thoughts move forward modified by their connections with the thought of others. It is where changing and growing and developing your mind is not only OK but what it is all about.

I would also add that it is a place where you can often scoop even the New York Times. This to me is a shame because I think reporting should be on the case.

Stephen C. Rose has written a number of books(Fiction/Non-fiction). You can tweet him here.

Enjoyed reading this piece? Please hit recommend and share with others.

The Coffeelicious on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!