Three Dikgosi Monument

The Three Dikgosi or Three Chiefs Monument is a set of three bronze statues honoring three famous tribal chiefs in Botswana. It is the most visited tourist attraction in Gaborone. The three chiefs recognized in statues are Khama III, Sebele I, and Bathoen I. These men traveled to Great Britain and requested that Bechuanaland (present day Botswana) be separated from the British South Africa Company (South Africa) and Southern Rhodesia (Zimbabwe). Queen Victoria accepted their request, because the British were not aware of the vast amount of natural resources Botswana held. This was a key point in Botswana evantually gaining independence.

Each statue is 18 feet tall and weighs 2.5 tons

In addition to the three statues there are six pillars around the monument. Each pillar depicts a different characteristic of the Batswana people through their struggle for independence. A person representing each characteristic is above a small plaque.

Botswana’s National Coat of Arms is featured in front of the three statues. The shield has the national animal the zebra, an ivory tusk, an ear of sorghum, several cogs, a cows head, and the word Pula. The zebra’s stripes represent the cultural diversity in Botswana. The zebras are holding the ivory and sorghum, two chief exports and symbols of Botswana. The cogs symbolize the industrialization of the nation. The cow is featured due to the large amount of fresh beef the country exports. The word Pula has several meanings in Setswana. The most direct translation is “Rain” or “Let there be rain.” It brings a sense of hope in a very dry country with little rain.

Like what you read? Give Stephen Dias a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.