No beer for a year

Stephen Wildish
4 min readMay 21, 2018

--

Last year on the 22nd of May, I gave up drinking. It’s now been a year since I’ve had a drink.

My tee-total, super-fun birthday party

This is a quick break from the silly character I play on social media to honestly, and far too earnestly, tell you about what I’ve learned this year…

Why did I stop drinking?

I knew for years that I was a heavier drinker than most. I was always the one at least a pint in front of everyone else. I’d given up for a token month every few years, but I wasn’t ready to give up.

I was fine without a drink, but when I did drink I found it hard to stop. In social situations I would be constantly thinking about the next drink. I might have been having a conversation with you, but not really listening, calculating if I can nip to the bar, or if I had a few cans in at home. Hearing a last order bell would have me racing up to get a couple of drinks before closing. I couldn’t just have one drink. I certainly wasn’t the caricature of the alcoholic having vodka on his cornflakes, but I knew I couldn’t stop when I had started. I ruined quite a few nights out, weddings, parties and stag dos by going too far.

Really, inside, I was terrified of the thought of admitting to myself I had a problem because that would mean never drinking again! I realised the thing that defined me for a lot of people was being a drunk. I didn’t want that to be the story of my life, I could change this!

I remembered being a child, before I knew what alcohol was. When I was a child my best high was winning the sack race at school. I wanted that again.

What have I learned this year?

I’ve learned that when you don’t drink you feel a lot healthier, lose weight and save money. My liver is throwing me a party to thank me.

‘Tubby funster’ to ‘Svelt smugster’ in under a year

I’ve had a year of no hangovers, no mornings of regret, no drink related injuries. If I’ve made a fool out of myself it’s not because drink got the better of me but because I’ve chosen to be a fool.

I’ve learned that night-time used to be my fun-time. Now Saturday/Sunday mornings are my playtime. I can get up go for a run, build an obstacle course, sit in the sun with a coffee. All with a clear head and an overwhelming smugness.

I’ve learned that people are really interested in me not drinking. They ask me questions like; “How long will you do it for?”, “Will you still be fun?” and “How do you find drunk people?”. Well, I don’t mind being around drunk people at all. It can be easier and more fun. Sober people tend to ask you about your feelings; “How are you doing?”, “How is the business going?”. Small talk is just the worst! Drunk people want to dance and be silly. It’s so much easier to get a laugh out of drunk people. (Note: Really, really drunk people are not fun. They make no sense and shout a lot)

People also tell me that “Becks Blue tastes horrible!” and “Do you not miss it?”. After a while you forget what actual beer tastes like. I mistakenly had a mouthful of real beer at Christmas and thought I had drunk a fermented urinal cake (I spat it out). Alcohol free beer tastes better after a while. I recommend a can of Flat Tire.

Most revealingly of all people tell me “I should probably drink less”. I get that one a lot!

I haven’t even thought about drinking once

What now?

I feel the happiest I have done in years, free from booze and free from about 14kg of belly fat. I’m going to keep going as long as I can. I will also be keeping this smug look on my face for quite a while yet.

Please continue to drink around me, I’m not tempted or jealous, conversely I’m not judging you! If you can drink and handle it, go you!

If you’re secretly terrified about never drinking again, I can tell you it’s not so bad. It’s pretty good this side of the fence, give it a shot.

Drinking tea at a festival with young people

--

--