Steph Smith
1 min readJul 8, 2015

--

Although I can wrap my head around the concept of this article, I think it’s extremely generalizing and a little naive. I will have travelled to nearly 30 countries by the time I turn 22 and have worked and paid for everything since I was 17. And, I have not lived at home since.

There are ways to achieve your desire to travel (should you want to, as I understand that there are many different personality types and personal desires), by working abroad, saving up, earning scholarships, etc. While I do realize that I am privileged enough to have an education to allow me to do this, I find this article extremely discouraging to those who may want to travel and think that the only way to go about it is through their inexistent parents trust fund. Not to sound like I don’t care about money, but some people truly find more happiness travelling than having a well paying 9–5 job as a young adult. My point is that you shouldn’t generalize all young travellers as you have or reduce the merit of travelling to a money grab that results in later failure.

Unlisted

--

--