Tiesto The Godfather Of EDM

Music Matters Blog
4 min readJun 2, 2023

--

Hello, everyone! Welcome to another episode of Music Matters, the blog where I interview some of the most influential and talented artists in the electronic dance music scene. Today, I have a very special guest with me: the legendary Tiësto!

Tiësto is a Dutch DJ and music producer who has been voted “The Greatest DJ of All Time” by Mix magazine and “The Best DJ of the Last 20 Years” by DJ Mag. He is also regarded as the “Godfather of EDM” by many sources. He has released six studio albums, countless remixes and singles, and has performed at some of the biggest festivals and venues in the world. He is also the founder of two record labels: Black Hole Recordings and Musical Freedom.

Tiësto, thank you so much for joining me today. How are you doing?

Tiësto: I’m doing great, thank you for having me. It’s a pleasure to be here.

Music Matters: So, let’s start from the beginning. How did you get into music and DJing?

Tiësto: Well, I was always fascinated by music since I was a kid. I used to listen to radio shows like the Ferry Maat Soulshow and In The Mix from Ben Liebrand. They inspired me to start mixing my own tapes and CDs. When I was fourteen, I started DJing at school parties and local clubs. I loved the feeling of making people dance and have fun with music.

Music Matters: And how did you develop your style and sound over the years?

Tiësto: I think my style and sound evolved with the times and with my own personal taste. I started out as a trance DJ, collaborating with artists like Ferry Corsten and Armin van Buuren. I also released some of my most iconic albums and compilations under that genre, like In Search of Sunrise and Magik. But then I also explored other genres like electro house, progressive house, big room house, future house, etc. I always try to keep an open mind and experiment with different sounds and influences.

Music Matters: You have worked with so many amazing artists over your career, both in EDM and outside of it. Who are some of your favorite collaborators and why?

Tiësto: Oh, that’s a tough question. There are so many talented artists that I admire and respect. But if I had to name a few, I would say:

- BT: He is a genius when it comes to producing and engineering. He has such a unique and innovative approach to music. We made some great tracks together, like Love Comes Again and Break My Fall.

- Hardwell: He is one of my best friends and protégés. He has a lot of energy and passion for music. We have a great chemistry in the studio and on stage. We made some huge anthems together, like Zero 76 and Written in Reverse.

- John Legend: He is an amazing singer and songwriter. He has such a soulful and powerful voice. We made a beautiful song together, All of Me (Tiësto’s Birthday Treatment Remix), which won a Grammy Award.

Music Matters: Speaking of awards, you have won many prestigious awards and honors throughout your career. Which one are you most proud of and why?

Tiësto: Well, they are all very special to me, but I think the one that stands out the most is performing at the 2004 Summer Olympics opening ceremony in Athens. It was such an honor and a privilege to be the first DJ to play live on stage at an Olympics. It was also a very challenging and nerve-wracking experience, because I had to play for four hours in front of billions of people watching around the world. But it was also very rewarding and memorable, because I felt like I was representing not only myself but also the whole EDM community.

Music Matters: That must have been incredible indeed. And what are some of your current or future projects that you can share with us?

Tiësto: Well, I’m always working on new music and remixes. Right now, I’m very excited about my new single “All Nighter”, which was coming out on April 21st. It’s a very catchy and uplifting track that I think people will love.

I’m also looking forward to touring again. I have some shows planned for this year in Las Vegas, Washington DC, Atlanta, etc. You can check out my website tiesto.com for more details.

Music Matters: Awesome! Thank you so much for your time and your insights, Tiësto. It was an honor to talk to you.

Tiësto: Thank you for having me. It was a pleasure to talk to you too.

Music Matters: And thank you all for reading this blog post. Stay tuned for more interviews with your favorite EDM artists on Music Matters!

And now for some humor:

Did you know that Tiësto’s real name is Tijs Michiel Verwest? That’s right, he’s not related to Kanye West at all.

Tiësto is so famous that he even has his own wax figure at Madame Tussauds in Amsterdam. The only difference is that the wax figure doesn’t sweat as much as he does when he plays.

Tiësto is known for his signature gesture of raising his hands in the air during his sets. He says it’s a way of expressing his gratitude and joy to his fans. But some people think he’s just trying to catch some wifi signal.

Tiësto has been DJing for over 30 years now. That means he has seen more turntables than most people have seen tables.

Tiësto is not only a DJ but also a philanthropist. He has supported many causes and charities over the years, such as Dance4Life , (RED) , World Childhood Foundation , etc.

He even donated his entire fee from his performance at Tomorrowland 2017 to charity. That’s very generous of him, considering he charges more than most people make in a year.

--

--

Music Matters Blog
0 Followers

Journalist/Blogger - Electronic Music Industry