Stephen Cognetta
HackerNoon.com
Published in
7 min readApr 5, 2017

How I live: My finite news system

This post is part of a larger attempt to share my personal “systems” that help me organize my life. I’m no expert, but by sharing my system, I hope to get feedback and inspire others to share as well.

Why should I care about this anyway?

Information is everywhere, and there is tons of it. Passively collecting your news information will fill your mind with thousands of cute cat pictures (don’t get me wrong, I love cat pictures), or just straight up wrong information (cue the “Fake News” chant). While curating information consumption does require overhead cost, that extra curation will help you focus on knowing the things you care about, instead of how many selfies Kim Kardashian took this morning.

The Endless Feed Problem and RSS

Endless feed models never truly “end” — you can spend all of your breaks constantly getting more information. Finite feed models will eventually run out of content, forcing you to find a new thing to do after you’re done consuming information.

Most of us get news from practically endless feeds (e.g. Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter). These news sources never end, and you’ll never read every single thing published on the platform, since there’s just so much content.

I’m personally opposed to having a limitless amount of content to consume, since it turns my break time into a two hour session of reading every distant acquaintance’s political…

--

--