The President is either mentally ill or on drugs

Steve Riley
2 min readJun 15, 2019

--

I tell you this as a subject matter expert on the topic; as I am mentally ill and on drugs. What this means is that all of his actions must be scrutinized very carefully because regardless of his intent his actions can be highly unpredictable. This does not make him a bad man or a good man just a man. His actions have made me take a close look at my actions in my life as he and I share a lot of the same traits.

I am bipolar type 2 and am on a wide range of medications to treat this. I have been bipolar for over 35 years, diagnosed as such. Despite having an extremely high iq (my parents have told me I test at 166) I have had a roller coaster life. The President and I I are different in one very significant way. I do everything I can to ALWAYS act with integrity and tell the truth. I always ideally hold the interests of others above my own. I joke that I follow the three laws of robotics. Donald Trump has no regard for integrity or the truth. This does not make him a bad man as there are no bad men. Only those that need help or guidance towards a proper path.

My mental health issues like the President’s cause my accountability and predictability to be very difficult. Despite knowing that I have everyone’s best interests at heart it can be heard to understand the motivations behind my actions. I believe that everyone is worthwhile simply by existing. You don’t have to earn what you get life should simply give you the best. If everyone had this philosophy I think things would move forward more directly.

I realize this post goes into more detail about my state of mind than the Presidents but I think that’s the point. I am part of a greater whole, a collective. Because of technology and science the world is turning into a stranger and stranger place.

We must have a positive vision of the future while at the same time understanding before we trust any one or anything.

The fact that our President is mentally ill is not just a symptom of what’s going on it’s a metaphor for the modern age. We are in a world where things change so fast we must all question all things; most importantly our foundation beliefs and truths and our own mental health.

I ask this question on Quora to get more input : https://www.quora.com/unanswered/Is-the-President-mentally-ill-or-on-drugs

--

--