Product, Business Model, and Lean Canvas Resources

steve arntz
2 min readJul 24, 2019

--

When I took my first real role as a product manager, the first resource I turned to was Business Model Generation. The book is phenomenal (a post for another day) and the tool in it is indispensable. The Business Model Canvas has been a tool I’ve used to great extent ever since.

There’s been plenty written on this and other canvases, so I’ll leave it to you to find better stuff to read about it. Here’s an example of one, you can find more:

There’s tools to build them and share them online. This one seems decent:

https://canvanizer.com/how-to-use/business-model-canvas-vs-lean-canvas and I also like Lucid for building these things.

I like the Business Model Canvas, Lean Canvas, the Value Proposition Canvas, and all the resources that the Design a Better Business team has put out:

I might write something about the most useful tools in that library, at some point.

For now, I just want to share a couple things. First, I combined some of the elements of these tools into a single page document that works well for me to get a plan on a page. The goal is mostly to share vision of a project with a variety of cross-functional stakeholders:

The other resource is a Google Docs template for Lean Canvas:

I hope you find these resources useful. Leave a comment or a clap if you do.

--

--

steve arntz

“We can be knowledgeable with other men’s knowledge, but we can’t be wise with other men’s wisdom.” -David Brooks